We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit with a living room, kitchen, patio and pool view. The room was comfortable and clean. The grounds were attractive. There is a nice laundrymat and exercise room. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday there is a manager's reception with drinks and snacks. The breakfast each morning was great with a nice variety.
Another plus for us was that it is pet friendly.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you want a 2nd floor you must use the steps. The steps are wide and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsdencci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    122
    55
    24
    9
See reviews for
88
127
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We got this hotel on a priceline bid. I was a bit hesitant due to other reviews I had read. Well... I am glad we stayed. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. The property is great! Sooo pretty! Yes, it is time for some updating, but it isn't as bad as some made it sound! We would certainly return when we come back to the area. The asst manager checked us out and was soooooo friendly! All in all...we got a great room on priceline for a great price. No complaints here!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsg560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Have stayed at numerous Residense inn's around the US. The bed was like a marshmallow, lights were burnt out, no guide to property amenities or how to set the temperature, plugged drains and oh yeah the facet head fell off. All fixed quickly when requested but why should I have to do their trouble shooting. Convenient to I-10 and clean enough this one seems old and tired and in need of an upgrade. I suspect management is aware since we didn't get the customary "How was your Stay" survey from Marriott following our visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Wow, not at all what we've come to expect from Marriott Residence Inn. This was not our first stay at this particular Residence Inn, either, so had reasonable expectations of our stay. Where do I begin? Let's start with the positives, of which there are few:
Pros:
1. We were traveling with our dog, and her favorite pasttime is hunting for rabbits, of which there are dozens on the property and the golf course next door.
2. There are no more positives.

Cons:
1. The old used soap and shampoo from the previous guest that stayed in our room had not been removed from the room... gross!
2. Food from the previous guest was left in the refrigerator/freezer.
3. Because of #1 and #2 above, we were doubtful of the room having been cleaned, so we had no confidence the bedsheets had been changed, but given the other reviews posted about this hotel, the dirty, musty smell of the sheets and pillows seems to be a common experience.
4. They ran out of food at the evening social our first night.
5. Speaking of food, the food that was served in the evenings barely passed for edible, and certainly would cause early death if eaten on a regular basis.
6. As mentioned, we traveled with our dog, and although there were doggie bag dispensers on the property, none of them were stocked with doggie bags.
7. Possibly as a result of #6 above, everywhere you walked there was dog poop not picked up by the dog owners, so watch your step when on the property.
8. The drain stopper in the bathtub did not work (the threads on it were stripped), so could not take a bath.
9. The bracket over the light fixture in the bathroom was missing, so the light in the room was far too bright.
10. The cover bracket covering the bottom of the refrigerator/freezer was missing.
11. One of the patio chairs outside the eating area was ripped and unsafe to sit in if you didn't notice it.
12. There is no daily newspaper provided, either in the room or in the lobby... very uncharacteristic for a Residence Inn.
13. There was no pad of paper, pen, pencil, or writing utensil of any kind to be found in the room. I have never in my long life stayed in any hotel room that didn't provide a pen.
14. Although there were three nicely sized big-screen tv's in the room, the picture quality was very, very poor, probably because the signal was truly not HD.
15. Beware... the walls are very thin, making sleeping difficult if you go to bed at a reasonable hour and your neighbor doesn't. Also, when any nearby unit turns their shower on, it sounds like the plumbing is three feet away, the loudest plumbing I've ever experienced. This, in fact, was the most unpleasant part of the stay for me.
16. Also, beware, this is no cheap hotel, where one could overlook all the negatives (of which there are many). It's close to 200 bucks for a 2-bedroom unit, plus 75 more for the dog.

Overall, this was a very unpleasant experience that cost a pretty penny. Given the experience, I'd have much rather paid a fraction of the price and stayed at Motel 6. What's most disconcerting, though, is having read the other reviews, apparently management doesn't really seem to care, or is not in a position to do anything about the conditions. Good luck if you choose to stay at Residence Inn Palm Desert.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RW_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

If you are approaching this property from Interstate 10, you'll drive right by a Hampton Inn and Suites and a Homewood Suites. Both properties look brand new. Why should you stay here? In addition to the typical "sport court" at most Residence Inn properties, this Residence Inn has two full-sized tennis courts. The property is also spread out over several buildings, giving it a more park-like atmosphere. Otherwise, the property is pretty old. (The "date manufactured" label on the microwave door was 1998.) So, if you don't care about the park-like setting or the tennis courts, you might appreciate that the Homewood Suites or Hampton Inn and Suites appear to be much more new.

The service, especially of the front desk, was excellent.

The putting green is in pretty poor condition. It needs to be redone or removed.

Room Tip: Rooms/suites near the pool might get some pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
1.6 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Courtyard Palm Desert
Courtyard Palm Desert
#18 of 22 in Palm Desert
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
2.1 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Palm Desert

Property: Residence Inn Palm Desert
Address: 38305 Cook St, Palm Desert, CA 92211-1794
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 28,693
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Palm Desert Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing