We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Big Wheel Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Big Wheel Tours
from US$ 169.00
More Info
from US$ 105.00
More Info
from US$ 105.00
More Info
from US$ 149.00
More Info
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
233
22
4
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
22
4
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bike ride date shake box canyon date farm joshua tree captain ron great ride homemade cookies joshua national park support vehicle palm springs shooting area downhill bike down hill lovely guide mountain biking highly recommend it for all ages
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I had a flat tire on my bike and went into their shop to see if they could help. A very pleasant young man named Doug fixed the flat for free! Wouldn’t take money! What a guy! Saved our day!
I recommend this bike rental shop. They have many models including mountain, fat tire, road and electric bikes. Full service guaranteed!

Thank toulouse777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment Rahul picked us up at the hotel in the morning to the time he dropped us off, he shared so much amazing information about Palm Springs with us: history, architecture, plant & animal life....he was a fantastic tour guide! The bikes were so great we decided to keep biking for the rest of the day. HIGHLY recommend Big Wheel Bikes !

Thank Culture22285843477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my husband and 4 teens took this tour with Raul and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guys took a lot of care to make sure our bikes fitted comfortably before we set off. The bike ride itself is very enjoyable through some of the local neighborhoods heading upward to the Indian Canyons. Part of the cycle is uphill but you can walk it if it gets too much. The hike is about an hour and our guide Raul was so informative about the local flora and landscape. We learned so much during our hike.
Raul was a lovely guide taking care all the way that everyone was ok esp with my youngest who was struggling a little on the hills. He dismounted and walked with him chatting all the way.
A super tour and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to check out this amazing place.

2  Thank deirdre329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a fun way to spend half a day and do some jostling fun 4x4 ing at the same time. Ed, our driver and guide was great. Informative and easy going with great information about the region. Views of the park, landscape, nature etc. were awesome. Don't go on some other cheaper visit. Pay the fee. It's worth it. What a great day. Lots of photo opportunities against some of the most unique landscapes and formations anywhere. Enjoy your tour!!! John & Brian. Seattle, WA.

Thank JM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I spent a delightful morning on a tour of Joshua Tree NP with Evan. He was knowledgeable, entertaining, professional and last but not least an expert navigator. We would highly recommend this tour.

Thank akhuber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband, college-age daughter and I took this tour the day after a strenuous hike in Joshua Tree NP so we were grateful it was suitable for all fitness levels. Having said that, we walked our bikes up the final hill to Indian Canyon! We did the tour in late October in sunny, but temperate (mid 70's to low 80's) weather. Raul did an excellent job of getting us fitted to bikes and helmets before a parking lot review of safety and biking protocol. The beginning and end of the biking is through the adjacent Palm Springs neighborhood before reaching the entrance to Indian Canyon on the reservation, but the flat and low-traffic environment allowed for Raul to cover some of the history of the area and Indian Canyon specifically. The hike is very easy, about 1 1/2 miles on a well maintained dirt path through a mountain spring-fed gulley with lots of greenery and birds in contrast to the dry hills surrounding the area. Raul had a wealth of information about the flora and fauna which made it interesting. This is a perfect tour to get acquainted with the area for groups, families, and multi-generational parties with "active seniors" (though depending on their fitness perhaps they might use an electric-assist bike!). The physical challenge probably won't satisfy the hard core or uber-fit folks unless they're on a rest day!

Thank robinreagan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

These guys live and know their business. Pleasant and knowledgeable. They rented a fantastic Ebike and mountain bike which we enjoyed greatly Zac was amazingly helpful, the bikes were perfectly tuned. A perfect experience.

1  Thank Orange1969Judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan T, Owner at Big Wheel Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Woo hoo! That is exactly what we aim for, a happy customer. We did add the ebikes recently and the response has been terrific. Thank you for using Big Wheel and the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Indian Canyons tour and it was fantastic. I especially loved being able to use the electric bike since I just finished chemo and wasn't up for a strenuous ride. Wonderful tour guides, Evan & Cody. So informative about the area. I highly recommend this tour for all. Wonderful views and hike in Indian Canyons as well.

Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan T, Owner at Big Wheel Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was a pleasure to meet you Jen and I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed yourselves. We hope that you can join us again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did this bike ride in September for the 2nd time as we did it several years ago and loved it. We booked it as an unusual wedding gift for my husband's sister who had never been to Palm Springs. We are all aged late 50's to mid 60's. The organisation is great, we were collected on time by our guide of the day Raul. The bikes are top quality and not complicated to ride, and are fitted to your height and size etc.
We got off to a good start as our guide Raul was great. We had questions for him on the local area and he did not disappoint, and filled our journey to and from the bike ride with masses of interesting details on the area, climate, and anything else we wanted to know. We could have listened to him all day and the ride in the van was a tour in itself!
It was very hot, close to 100 degrees on the day we went, but the ride downhill was cooling and the scenery is breathtaking. This ride is for anyone who can sit on a bike and do basic pedalling and breaking. Its not just for fit athletic people its for anyone. You go at your own pace and when you reach the bottom of the ride there's a refreshing date ice cream waiting. There's also plentiful cold water and cookies for the ride so no need to take anything. I think its very possible on our next visit to Palm Springs we will do this for a 3rd time. If you're reading this and anxious whether it will be ok - it will be!

Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan T, Owner at Big Wheel Tours, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you Gillian! Do you know that unfortunately ten miles of Box Canyon road was washed away first by Hurricane Rosa on September 30th and then a second storm which came through on October 12th.

There is a video on Facebook from a low flying plan taken on October 13th. Unfortunately Trip Advisor won't let me link to it but it is worth a look if you can find it. It sounds like you may have been one of the last people to enjoy that tour this year! The road department says that they may or may not repave the road. If not we will just run that route with mountain bikes! We hope that you can come back and see us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I are impressed with the owner of this company. When we and a fellow traveler expressed concerns about one of their employees, the owner personally reached out to us, processed a quick refund we didn't ask for, asked us to document our concerns, and took swift action with his employee. He then sent us a gift certificate to use when we are back there! During our interactions he expressed sincere concern for the experience of his guests, and we have high admiration for how he handled the situation. I hope this company moves up to #1 on the list of activities here. We highly recommend this company for its ethics, values and desire for guests to have a top notch experience.

Thank karah242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan T, Owner at Big Wheel Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Those are very kind words and that is very generous of you. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews