We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Booked a week in September. Arrived early Sunday afternoon. We had booked a regular guest room and at check in we asked if we could pay the difference for a 1 bedroom villa, which we were told that was not possible (despite the resort being less than half full). Our room had a good view of the golf course and at first glance it was clean. Upon closer look we found there to be mould all over the shower curtain and on the pillow cases. The resort has a policy of only giving a few pool towels for each room which you must keep throughout your stay with no opportunity to trade them in for clean ones. One of the pools was closed even though the check in agent suggested that pool. The other main pool had guests smoking (even though it's non smoking) and everyone brought big coolers with their own alcohol (again this was supposedly not allowed). The most concerning part of this resort was the security. We had another guest walk into our room after the check in agent had activated her key to our room. Also the gates to enter the villa areas are always open so anyone can enter regardless of whether they are guests or not. We used the fitness facilities which are ok. We ate at the grill twice and had very good service and food. We ended up leaving the resort and walking away from our prepaid week after 2 nights. We ended up finding a much better property in Palm Desert that exceeded all of our expectations.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. As we are an Ownership resort, we do not operate as a standard Marriott hotel and inventory is managed differently. Your feedback is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed expectations on your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Been there 5 times already. Great Place, wonderful grounds, nice bbq area, nice golf grounds. Activities for the kids, its o to pay a few dollars for painting ceramic animals and building a bear, build a ice cream Sunday and snow cones.

Prices have risen for the pool food and drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank margaretbarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Welcome back! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed another stay and that Laura was able to make it even more exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

It's a nice resort that's not too far of a drive from L.A. Great for weekend getaways. You have your own kitchen in the 1 and 2 bedroom units. Very close to Costco, Sam's Club and Walmart to get food and supplies. Also plenty of restaurants and fast food around for those in the studios. The grounds and rooms are well maintained. The staff is friendly. What keeps me from giving it five stars is the nickel and diming for the kids activities. There are very few of them and most of them cost. I wish Marriott would study Disney Resorts on how to run a kids program.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyVeldheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. It is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We look forward to exceeding expectations on your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

The staff was super friendly. There are many activities at this resort for kids and even have a "swim in" movie. The resort offers a shuttle to get around the property which can be handy in the hot weather. Rooms have a nice floor plan and kitchenette. We have stayed at multiple hotels in palm dessert/rancho mirage, but are now sold on this property.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ClubSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for a perfect review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Palm Desert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel was so nice the customer service was so good the pool had a wonderful waterslide the room service was excellent the beds were clean and there were things to do like playing pool and golf and I would go again if I want to again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Marriott's Shadow Ridge for your special occasion. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for a perfect review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
2.3 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.2 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
942 reviews
1.9 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.7 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.0 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: ₹ 9,122 - ₹ 24,304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing