We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing in the desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“relaxing in the desert”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Enjoyed our 1 bedroom villa very much. Wireless internet included which is helpful to us. Nice balcony overlooking the golf course. Stayed 6 nights so had a nice feel for the area.

Room Tip: Over look the water or golf course. Higher room has less clomp clomp. Has elevator which is helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    363
    125
    74
    46
See reviews for
460
337
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just spend three days, two nights at this resort. The room was spacious and the kitchen was modern. All the appliances were quit new and complete. (Including corkscrew) The bedroom was also spacious and had its own sink and bathtub with a king bed. There was a large patio with dining table overlooking the golf course. Every morning while eating breakfast we were entertained by little bunnies on the lawn. The grounds were well manicured with beautiful palms and other exotic plants. We played tennis each morning and the 4 courts were never totally occupied. It had the feel of a little tennis club because of the little clubhouse and the tennis pro sitting upfront. Our two thirteen old boys had a blast at the large pool with water slide and clubhouse. The food saved near the pool was decent and yummy. There were never too many people at the pool and lots of chairs were available in the shadow or sun. The restaurants on the grounds were also great and had nice views of the grounds.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the reception desk persons were quite robot like and on the verge of rude sometime. The check in time of 4PM and check out of 10AM also seems quite dumb as you loose 6 hours on your room. Early check in was only honored 1 hour before the 4 PM official time. Not sure if any special effort was made to accommodate us (Platinum Marriott Members) if you thin people checked out at 10 AM and we could not get into our room until 3 PM after waiting 3 hours around the pool.

Room Tip: The property is quite large. If you have kids and go to the pool choose the 1400, 1500, 1600 buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globewalker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for just the one night after a short drive up from LA. Check in staff were really friendly and helpful and our room was ready at 11 am which was totally unexpected. The pool is great and was really quiet at this time of year. The pool bar snacks were good and the drinks really cheap. A nice touch was the free wine and cheese tasting near reception in the afternoon. I recommend the aerial sky tram but get there early and take warm clothes. I will definitely be returning to this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

this vacation club resort is awesome! upon check in the staff was very helpful, and had a nice smile. they let us check in early and even get a later check out which was very very nice. the place is set up almost like condos where there are different sections and areas. they had to draw us a map to where our room was.
we were expecting one big room, but it was actually 3 small rooms which was very convenient cause we were two couples and we had a living room to socialize and two seperate bedrooms on opposite sides of the living area. it was like a miniature house. there was at least 2 pools (maybe 3) and one with a water slide which was cool and they had a few bars which were very nice. located very close to restaurants and grocery stores also.
i wish we could have stayed longer. it was the ultimate getaway. im very glad my friend took us here because we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igotmyxomatosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I just spent 3 days at Shadow Ridge. While the golf course and grounds are beautiful, the rooms and the room service was so terrible. We reserved a room with a balcony/patio. What we got was the second bedroom of a two bedroom suite. The furniture was broken, the TV was set atop a wall shelf, jutting into the room making it impossible to walk around the bed without knocking it off the shelf. The carpeting was not vacumed, and grout missing around the tub. The maid came in all days between 3 and 4 pm, sloppily made the bed and then rinsed dishes without using soap. When we asked if the maid could come between 10 and 2, we were told to make a "reservation" for earlier service. After the first day, we never got coffee packets replenished and the coffee filters in the coffee maker were never removed. If this is how Marriott plans to impress potential time-share buyers, they certainly lost my interest. I will never go back to a Marriott Vacation resort again. I wish I'd read some reviews before I plunked out all that money. Never again!!

Room Tip: Go to the Hyatt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judigraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
2.4 km away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.2 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
0.0 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge II- The Enclaves
3.7 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages

Property: Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Address: 9003 Shadow Ridge Rd, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2057 (Formerly Marriott's Shadow Ridge)
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,723 - ₹ 19,006
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern California's magnificent mountain ranges serve as the breathtaking backdrop for Marriott's Shadow Ridge. Spacious villas overlook rolling fairways and sparkling lakes weaving throughout the landscape. Beautiful master suites feature a king bed and oversized soaking tub while the spacious living and dining areas, and fully kitchen offer convenience and comfort. Swing by the Faldo Golf Institute by Marriott and try your luck on the championship course. Then relax at Nick Faldo's Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Shadow Ridge Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriotts Hotel Shadow Ridge
Marriott Palm Desert
Marriott Shadow Ridge
Marriotts Shadow Ridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing