We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was my first stay at the Westin Desert Willow, the rooms were great, I had a 1 bedroom with full stove and refrigerator. The pool area and lobby were very nice. The workout room was spacious and there was a coed steam and dry sauna. $15 for parking seemed high since this is not in a downtown but maybe all hotels there charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjbawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    276
    66
    28
    19
See reviews for
380
313
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We're owners at the Desert Willow and have tried all of the buildings. By far, we like building six that faces the south. The rooms are fairly dark and with the southern exposure, the light realy brightens up the room. Service at the DW was excellent and staff extremely friendly. We had a great time in the sun and on the courses!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrDuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman oaks
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012 via mobile

I would say the desert willow villas was a great experience. I brought my wife, my 6 yr old, and my four year old. Pool activities for kids and adults were awesome, especially for the kids. There is always something to do by the pool. I don't golf so hanging out, drink in hand, with kids around the pool is my idea of a relaxing vacation. The villas are new and beautiful. Kitchen is great because cooking breakfast is no sweat for me. Some dinners too...it saves a ton of money. We went to soak city, kids loved it. Didn't take them to the tram. That would be boring for them. But you can have fun just staying in the hotel.

We stayed in building 5, which was about a 5 minute walk to the pool are. WHO CARES! It's a nice walk. You see rabbits, road runners walking with you.

Recognition goes out to Candace, the concierge. Cash and Ethan at the pool. And the cool magician....I think his name was anthony.

Rooms linen and towels are not changed everyday, they are not supposed to.

I'm a Starwood owner and this place rocks.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jarod126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We got a great deal ($400 for 4 nights as they were enticing us to buy-in) and used it as a way to explore and enjoy Joshua Tree NP. While the daily drive to JT was a bit longer than we anticipated, it worked out really well.

We were in a one bedroom condo overlooking the golf course. The kitchen, washer, and pull out bed were just great for us with a kid. We never ate at the hotel, as we made full use of the kitchen for all our meals. The one bedroom villa just has burners and microwave oven, no real oven. But it was fancier than camping! We used the full size washer/dryer daily - less packing/stuff to bring and we went home with clean hiking wear!

The pools were nice and the water slide was fun. FYI: they are strict about the height requirement, as others have said. Our 4.5 year old was too short for it, but us parents took turns going on it! :)

One little complaint - we called the front desk to let them know that we were arriving late (11 PM) and asked that the pull out bed be made up (no need to pull out, but to have fresh sheets on it). We thought it would be easier with a kid. It wasn't done when we arrived and we could not find clean pillows - the extra pillows had been previously used. We ended up using one of the 500 fresh pillows from our bed. The concierge/front desk folks were very nice next day (especially as they were trying to get us to listen to their timeshare talk - which we did not) but the bed was never made up freshly! Oh well...

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chica-linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Westin Desert Willows is small compared to some of the mega-resorts in the area. The rooms were large and well finished. The pool area was spectacular. However, the price was almost 2x a comparable villa a Marriott's Shadow Ridge. And for you SPG Platinum's, you'll be second fiddle to timeshare owners.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the buildings closest to the pool. Buildings 5 and 6 aren't that much farther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbradwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
5.5 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
1.9 km away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
1.4 km away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
5.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.4 km away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Desert Willow Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Desert Willow Villas

Property: The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Address: 75 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,438 - ₹ 25,533
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Desert Willow Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A villa resort offering just-like-home amenities in a world class destination. The Westin Desert Willow features villas up to 1,420 square feet with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies or patios, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Experience the value of a villa and enjoy no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Desert Willow Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Desert Willow Villas Hotel Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing