We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Accommodations”
Review of Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed in a queen room with fireplace. It was clean, quiet and an excellent location. Very close to everything yet in it's own quiet setting. Great shower. Would definitely stay here again. Also Barbara the host was very helpful and we were able to buy tickets to the Monterey Sea Aquarium at a discount. The inn seemed to offer some special touches (italian style bathroom tile, hardwood floors, fireplace) compared to other similarly priced motels in area. Felt more like an inn than motel.
Not sure the bed was actually queensize. It seemed smaller. We are both tall and a queen is always a good choice for us. Maybe what is called the king room would be a better choice if bed size is different. This didn't affect our desire to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGSunset, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for your review!

I am pleased to hear we were able to make your experience a memorable one! As far as the bed is concerned, we definitely have queen beds in our queen rooms. As you mentioned though, a king is definitely bigger and we would be happy to upgrade you to a king should you choose to return back to stay with us!

Thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Amar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 630 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

I visited Pacific Grove for the first time this past January, attending a conference held on the Asilomar Conference Grounds. The rooms at ACG are pricey and bunk-style, so I opted for Sunset Inn instead, which was a MUCH better value. It was a pleasant 12 minute walk to the conference grounds along a stretch of sidewalk-free road (not much traffic, but some). The area is quite residential, with inns and houses but no shops or restaurants. This made it a bit tricky when I arrived with a terrible head cold and had no easy access to lotion-laden tissues but Barbara was so sweet she arranged to have some brought to my room. The service was great, the room was lovely and the area is very peaceful. I would recommend it and hope to go back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyritepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from a great experience while staying at the Sunset Inn. We stayed in a Queen room with a fireplace, balcony, and a jacuzzi tub with a rain shower. AMAZING!! A bit small, but cozy for 2. Perfect location and just minutes from the beach, Monterray, Carmel, and Santa Cruz. The staff is very nice and helpful. Gave us recommendations on where to eat/ do. We will be going back and staying there again!

Room Tip: For 2 people, the Queen room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable. I would call this an upscale hotel that was a pleasant, romantic stay for us and and a very good value for the price, but I can imagine that one might be a little disappointed here if you're looking for a true luxury hotel experience. The continental breakfast is nothing special and there is hardly any dining room space to eat it, but I would have considered this hotel a good value even if there were no breakfast offered at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

As a surprise birthday getaway I took my boyfriend here. So quite and relaxing. Our Inn had a in jacuzzi tub in the room with a full kitchen. It is just a 3 minute walk to the beach. Secluded beaches with wildlife surronding. Beautiful golf course and near a lighthouse. 10 minutes to Cannery Row. We are definetly coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.2 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
1 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
346 reviews
1.2 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
622 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 133 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2094
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: ₹ 7,114 - ₹ 16,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1939 historic landmark is located one half block from the Pacific and right next to Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy redesigned rooms with wood floors, plush beds and linens, and large flat screen televisions. Free wireless Internet access and continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Pacific Grove
Sunset Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing