We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LUCKILY WE DON'T GET TO GO BACK”
Review of Beachcomber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber Inn
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LUCKILY WE DON'T GET TO GO BACK”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Quite simply this place is crap. Carpets dirty, filthy swimming pool, lies about when it gets fixed, horrible bathrooms with dirt everywhere. Appears more like a drug dealers tinnie house than an accommodating site. Dirty, filthy, squalor, should be condemned by the council as a national disgrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peakleveldevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    11
    15
    13
    17
See reviews for
16
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I read all the reviews before going and hoped that all would be OK. Whilst I understand that changes in staff are on going, the cleanliness was extremly poor. As reported elsewhere carpets are incrediablly dirty and it appeared somebody had changed their bike oil in our room. My feet stuck to the carpet so I left my shoes on. The cleaning was so bad the cleaners had not spotted a previous occupants bath soap (and dirt) on the shower ledge; a finger mark across the CD player left a line and the "fuzz" under the bed was thick.

It costs very little to hire a carpet cleaner for a day or two and go through the place. The cleaners need to be shown how to clean and check their work.

Overall, I feel the owners are "sweating their asset" and not re-investing in what could be a gold mine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JonRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is another one of those funky beach motels that some people can get into and some just can't handle. For us, it was just OK.

We arrived around 6 p.m. and the office was closed. Our key was left in an envelope for us, which was fine, but when we discovered we had no ice bucket or cups we were just out of luck. We had to use plastic cups from to get a little ice from the machine. The pool was covered and closed, but it would have been too cold to swim anyway.

The room was very small but clean. The carpet, as other reviewers have noted, was badly stained and needed replacing. The bed and bedding were nice.

The adjacent restaurant was packed, but the hostess offered us seats at the bar, which turned out to be very fun. We shared an excellent fried shrimp dinner, drinks, and dessert, and the friendly bartender gave us top notch service.

The continental breakfast in the office area was limited but fine for us The clerk was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne1973Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Because our usual spot near Asilomar has gone down in quality, I used Trip Advisor's positive comments to book this place. When we left, we learned that Arlene, who ran the place with Bob, had died, and since then he hired someone to be on-site innkeeper. So read our experience in light of this management change.

When we arrived, we learned the large room we booked was unavailable "due to plumbing problems" (delivered complete with eye roll). Also, the pool and spa were closed due to health regulations. We were able to look at several other rooms, and were taken aback by their condition. We selected what proved to be the Accessible room. Since the beds were satisfactory and bathroom clean, we decided to stay. We later discovered we had been written up for four nights when one should have been free, and decided to fix it on leaving.

At night we discovered the sliding door to our first floor deck had been installed backwards and did not lock, so we moved furniture to block it and got on with our touring. When lights were on, we realized the carpet was so dirty, seemingly never ever cleaned, that we wouldn't let a dog on it. The rest of the room was clean, but recent repairs reflected work of a handy man with meager skills. The floor was spongy in places, a sign of rot underneath.

We had no housekeeping at all. I turned my pillow over toward the end and found eyelash marks from mascara. I wear no eye makeup.

The back yard, advertised as a play and picnic area, had not been maintained and looked nothing like the pictures from the past.

Breakfast was the usual Budget level lowest end sugary treats, drinks, bagels, and little cereal boxes. You could do one of those self-made waffles that never quite work. Coffee was the weakest imaginable. (Asilomar has an espresso bar, fortunately.)

Our second night the people next door had a fight. The man was slamming inside and out to the deck, throwing furniture, screaming so violently and obscenely we thought he would beat up the woman. We hadn't been told who to contact at night in case of trouble, and were about to call the police when the fight stopped.

The next evening similar violence occurred and eventually quieted down. In the middle of the night the police came and arrested one person and took the other in an ambulance.

We decided to leave, and learned from the very competent morning clerk that the screaming man was the innkeeper, who had been hired at the beginning of the year. We told her about existing problems in the room. She explained the recent history of the place, said upgrades were being planned, such as new carpeting. She also corrected our bill. She was the only competent person in the place.

The adjoining restaurant, the Fish Wife, is unaffiliated with the motel, and is one of the best seafood places on the peninsula. So don't confuse the two as one place.

So if this has been an old favorite of yours, call ahead to find out whether the innkeeper we had has been replaced. I am sure Arlene would be highly embarrassed by the change in condition of this once good family spot.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pipilo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum369, Manager at Beachcomber Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
The staff at the Beachcomber Inn did their very best to provide MsAudubon (alias) good lodging and service. Regarding events and statements in this posting:
1. Bob and Arlene were the innkeepers for a number of years and Bob (NOT Arlene) died in June, 2010.
2. No new innkeepers have been hired (to date).
3. Arlene left the Beachcomber January, 2011 rather than stay on in another capacity.
4. The pool is NOT closed for “health reasons.” It is closed for repairs currently scheduled for August, 2011. Problem will be resolved by September, 2011.
5. MsAudubon was refunded all her money with our apologies for the disturbance that was beyond our control. She stayed 2 nights for free.
6. The couple that created the disturbance had applied for the innkeepers’ job and were staying in the apartment. They are no longer here and will never return (a mutual understanding). Problem resolved.
7. We are not aware of the mascara on the pillow case as we have no record of this complaint.
8. Most guests complement us on the breakfast and our coffee (Farmer Brothers premium). Our business is sustained by return guests.

We are working to improve conditions where we know we must and in the meantime are offering very competitive rates for an excellent location.

Paul McConnell
Manager
Beachcomber Inn
1996 Sunset Drive
Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Tel: 1+800-634-4769
Email: beachcomberinn@comcast.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We were traveling with 4 children, myself and my husband. We received a call as we were arriving into Monterey, from the hotel that our two room suite for $75.50 would not be available do to plumbing problems and that they were very sorry. She proceeded to give me a phone number to call that would try and help find a room. I was very upset and told her that she needed to do somthing herself and get us a room. She finally offered us 2 rooms for the same price as the one we originally had, only because I was very upset. The rooms had a bad smell due to the filthy carpet. The water barely got warm for our showers and at first came out a little dirty and rusty colored. The thermostat in our room was broken and we ended up freezing that night, and next to our bed I found some dead bugs, was not very happy at all. We have stayed here many times over the past 4 years and cant believe it has gotten this bad. We will never go back....Dont get me wrong good little breakfast and good location, but no one there to help if you have a problem. Dont waste your money, go somewhere else we will...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CC939700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.4 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.6 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.2 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.5 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
3.6 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Inn

Property: Beachcomber Inn
Address: 1996 Sunset Dr, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3787
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,018 - ₹ 12,586
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachcomber Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing