We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

When I booked the room I was excited about the rave reviews. The price was right so I thought I'd love it. I was very disappointed. Upon arrival the look of the place was slightly run down. Needed some TLC, Paint etc. When I entered the room it was dark and stuffy with a smell that was not pleasant. The room could have used some TLC too. It had a tired look. Upgrade the furniture and decor. It had a depressing feel. This was room 107 and the window faced a fence and some gardening tools. Not nice. Then I opened the windows, which were hard to open, it helped the smell a bit. You couldn't leave the sindows open at night there was no secure. the bed was OK but bring your own pillows it you want a good night sleep.

I have been to this area many times and I have been delighted with the experience. Not this time went away unhappy.

Good things were the closeness to Asilomar and it's walk to the beach. I would try other Inns close by though next time.

Room Tip: choose rooms that the window faced out to the open. they will be much brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    106
    39
    8
    5
See reviews for
120
101
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Reserved two nights to be able to explore the Monterrey area. Pacific Gardens is located perfectly to do just that. Within a very short driving distance you can reach Asilomar Beach, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the 17 mile scenic drive through Pebble Beach. A bit further (still just 10-15 minutes or so) and you can reach Monterrey Bay area. We loved visiting Cannery Row. Our room had a king size bed (and was pet friendly, although on the 2nd floor with steep stairs) and was quite large. It looked a little dated, but was comfortable and clean. We had a fridge and coffee maker, as well as a hot air popper (and popcorn provided). Staff was friendly upon check-in. Continental breakfast in main lobby with coffee, tea, muffins, cereal, yogurt, and fruit. Wine, cheese, and crackers are out during the evening 6-7. This is a pleasant and homey place to stay.

Room Tip: Pet friendly place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was surprised when I drove up to the motel, I guess I expected something that looked better for the area. The room itself, had kind of a funny musty smell whenever I opened the door, but it would get better when I opened the windows. The windows though were the one thing I had a problem with. As a single female traveler in a ground floor room, it is not very safe to leave the windows open especially at night, and since there is no A/C, the room could get kind of stuffy. Also, the windows were old and tended to stick a little. It would be nice if they could develop windows with a small transom at the top which could be left open for ventilation, but still be secure. My room faced the main street and could be noisy with the car and foot traffic. The location though was wonderful for going through the Asilomar grounds to the beach and dune trails. In review, the rooms had all the amenities listed, fireplace, hair dryer, good bed, but just in a tired way, In other words believe the picture you see in the review of this facility

Room Tip: This is still a good option for the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband, I, and our dog arrived to Pacific Gardens late afternoon. Right away we were amazed by many things that we didn't really expected for the price we paid: the place is truly a beautiful garden, very cozy, homy atmosphere, everything is kept so nice and clean as someone would at home. I would even say with love. Very friendly, hospitable and helpful staff and the oner Robert. We've traveled a lot with our large 85 lbs dog...Never have we seen the hotel that excepts large dogs, that is so well taken care of. Robert - the owner, made our check in very smooth, nice and easy and DID NOT CHARGE EXTRA FEE FOR A LARGE DOG!!!! He was always there in the lobby - taking calls, talking to the guests, answering questions. We were not familiar with the area, and needed a lot of info on which beaches, parks, restaurants and other places were dog-friendly. He came up with a lot of great ideas. Every evening at the lobby (and that part of lobby furnished as a dining or guest room of a home: with fireplace, photographs of the family and decorative items, antique style wooden tables and chairs), between 5 - 7pm, he serves wines, several kinds of cheese, crackers, and salami. He made sure that there was plenty of everything for everybody, maintaining cleanliness of tables and the room. Robert also makes sure that there is nice music playing there, and changes genre of music on CDs depending on the age and interests of the crowd in the lobby. The atmosphere is super nice and relaxing!! Really makes you feel welcomed and relaxed. People could hang out at the lobby and mingle, find a quiet table for 2 by the window and enjoy the beautiful view over a glass of wine, or take a table outside and breath that amazing ocean air mixed with fragrance of the plants around them. Right from the lobby, there is a pathway to Asilomar State beach. 3 minutes walk, and you're there. Beautiful, swimmable beach, and dog-friendly too!! Great location for the hotel!! We were not expecting much from the room, since they have designated rooms for people with pets... Another pleasant surprise. The room was very spacious, very clean, had all the necessary toiletries there, a large fireplace and wood to burn (not that it didn't have a heater :). Besides the fridge, microwave and coffeemaker, it had a popcorn maker and a bag of corn to make!!! Table and chairs by the window with a really nice view. The hotel also has 2 outside jacuzzis, that are very spacious, very clean, real nice hot water for rather chilly nights. They are open for use 24X7!!! While in most hotels pools and jacuzzis are closing at 9 or so. In the mornings, there is a complimentary breakfast. OMG!!! They provide anything your heat desires. Besides cereals, oats, donuts, fruit and juices, they have a lot of goodies right from their local bakery. Several varieties of everything!!! Very tasty and fresh!! Cranberry scones, heated in the microwave, stole my heart :))) And for lunch, within 10 minutes walk through the beautiful neighborhood, there is a restaurant with a funny name "Fish Wife". Doesn't look like much outside.., but it is a very nice, upscale white table cloth, tastefully decorated seafood place inside. Reasonably priced, with excellent service. The bottom line is: Excellent location, reasonable rates, very friendly staff, clean, very nice rooms, very well taken care facilities, extras - as nightly cheese & wine, awesome breakfast, dog-friendliness, welcoming coziness and relaxing atmosphere created by Robert and his staff made our vacation very pleasant, romantic and memorable, giving us opportunity to travel with our beloved dog, without spending extra for that. Thank You very much!!! Maya & Jeff Q

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We love this inn. Our room was slarge, the staff are unusually friendly and helpful, the wine and cheese hour is nice, it's close to the beach, and dogs are welcome. Our older Aussie, Sheba, gives it five paws up.

Room Tip: it can be noisy during the night from people upstairs. Might be quieter on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tidetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
1.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.0 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.0 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,888 - ₹ 13,885
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing