We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location - Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Chatsworth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location - Great staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I've been coming to this Inn for 20 years now and am never disappointed. You can't beat the location - across the street from the Asilomar Conference Grounds and a short walk to the beach. The rooms are a bit dated but you really can't beat this place for the price. For those who complain about the noise, I always make sure that I stay in a room with no room above me and that usually takes care of that problem. There were a number of dogs in residence when I was there and I never heard them. I happen to be very particular about my shower and they have one of the best - not wimpy like some places. The scones at breakfast are absolutely the best and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The free newspapers provided in the lobby are nice as well. Again, great location - great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningTrav27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    114
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
125
111
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We visited Pacific Grove while touring northern California on a family vacation, staying in a variety of accommodation types. We chose the Inn because it had a traditional, rustic look to it and liked the location. We felt the owner's description of the Inn and facilities were accurate. The people here are very friendly and helpful and based on their input during our stay they really enhanced our enjoyment of the area and made it a relaxing and fun stay. The accommodation could do with a face lift but what it might lack in upgrades it makes up for in its location to the beach and the good old fashioned charm and customer service offered by the staff. Some reviews mentioned noise from neighbors and other disturbances. I am a fussy sleeper and am very easily disturbed by background noise but slept like a baby while at the Inn! If the accommodations were updated I would have no problem giving it a 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here very much. They are a pet friendly hotel which worked out great for us and our 2 dogs. The wine and cheese in the evening was very nice! Kelly did a great job providing a relaxing atmosphere with a cozy fire, comfy chairs, pleasant music, plenty of wine, cheese, assorted crackers and salami. It was a great way to unwind after a long drive to the coast. The room was was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't give it a 5 star rating because the windows didn't slide open very easily. There are large dogs just behind the hotel, but they brought them in for the night around 9:00 pm. Our king size bed was very comfy. Very short walk to the beach through the Asilomar Conference grounds. The continental breakfast in the morning provided fresh bagels, cream cheese, pastries, muffins, orange juice and coffee, which was ver nice. I love their lobby, very comfy and inviting. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pet friendly place with a beautiful, short walk to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mochuisle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shingle Springs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Excited by the location, across the street from Asilomar and one block from ocean. First impression driving in - looked quaint, rustic with nice landscaping. We checked in at around 8pm and young woman behind desk was not particularly friendly, she basically handed us our key without giving us any further direction or information, we had to ask her for direction to our room. Our room had a King size bed and fireplace. Furniture was dated circa1980, bedding was not inviting, the blanket was dated and worn polyester as well as the bed spread. The pillows were lumpy and the mattress was very springy. The lamp on desk did not work. The windows are single pane so the cold wind blows through, and they also did not lock, they had cheap locking device that screws on window track to keep them secure - not a secure feeling when room is located on main street. The bathroom was motel room quality - shower curtain was old and crusty; lighting was very dim and had no fan for ventilation. When we flushed the toilet, the pipes moaned every time, and we could hear neighbors taking shower. The soaps and shampoos were very nice. Carpet had a stain in front of sink. Sink countertop was very low, worn-out and needs replacing. The door leading to shower room needed to be wiped clean, it was full of black hand marks. The wine and cheese they offered could have been presented better - salami looked like it was old and packaged, thick slices of cheddar and monterey jack cheese and crackers to go with unknown red and white wine. Would suggest offering maybe a local wine to go with locally made cheese and bread. Breakfast was a choice of Raisin Bran cereal or Frosted Flakes, bagels, sugar coated muffins and danishes, bananas and old apples, hard boiled eggs - you could do better and present foods that are fresher,and in season, especially since you are located in an area where foods are grown. We definitely had higher expectations coming to this place due to the location. The plus side was it was across the street from Asilomar, perfect if you're there for a function, and one block from the ocean, great if you want to walk or job along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The location is great and the staff were very friendly, Yes they offer Wine and Cheese in the evening, but this hotel is very dated. I found the beds to be very uncomfortable as you can feel the springs underneath you, but my biggest complain is the noise. You can hear the neighbors dog all night, can hear the shower, sink and toilet running in the next room, and you can hear the people above you walking around, the creaking of their bed, and their converstations. Just too many annoying and loud noises to give this a hiring rating. I wasn't expecting much and knew most of the hotels in this area are motel 6ish but the squeaking of the bed and footsteps all night are just too much. I come to this area a couple of times a year for conferences and I just will not be able to stay here again :(

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h20dreams5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.0 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
333 reviews
1.0 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
1.7 km away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,370 - ₹ 16,429
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing