We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We booked a 2-night stay in a queen-bedded room at the Bide-A-Wee Inn in September via the Inn website.

The Inn was easy to find and in the lovely location of Pacific Grove in Monterey, very close to 17-mile Drive. We were allocated room 112 which had parking outside. The room was very clean and tidy with a small table and chairs and also a microwave, fridge and toaster. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was fairly small but well designed and had a good supply of towels and a hot powerful shower. There was WiFi available which worked well and was of a good speed in the room.

Breakfast is included in the price and was a self service continental buffet style which could be collected from the reception and taken back to our room to be eaten. There was a good range of food including pastries, muffins, different breads with a toaster, coffee, fruit and fruit juice.

Although only staying for a couple of days, we wished we had booked the one bedroom with living room for a bit more space as we carry a lot of luggage! However the room was perfectly adequate and comfortable for our stay. The location is very quiet and the gardens are well tended with a wealth of birds on the feeders and the big plus is that it was only a few minutes stroll to the rocky coast with its lovely board walks.

As we did not want to drive all the way into Monterey for our evening meals, we ate at the nearby ‘Fishwife’ restaurant in Sunset Drive (near Asilomar beach), only a few minutes drive from Bide-A-Wee. This is very popular for good reason - excellent food (especially seafood) and reasonable priced.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay at Bide-A-Wee again if we were in the area but probably upgrade to the 2-room suite.

Room Tip: Book the bedroom with living room if staying for more than a day or if you have a lot of luggage!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaDurnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed in a regular motel room over the office, #122, not in one of the cottages. Although it did not have a kitchen it did have a refrigerator and microwave which were sufficient to help us avoid the expense of eating out for every meal. It was a typical motel room but the unexpected treat was that at the top of the steps, which led only to our room, we had our own private porch with a table and chairs.
There were many great things about the Bide-A-Wee: The location is fantastic, just a block from one of the nicest beach areas around. You can hear the waves from your room - and, in our case, from our lovely private porch nestled in the trees. The property as a whole feels very peaceful and the road it is on is a quiet one. The room was spotlessly clean. They provide a very decent continental breakfast. As we travel with minimal technology it was convenient to use the free computer in the office to check on flight status before leaving.
There were a few negatives. On the first night we were sound asleep when we were awakened by the loud sound of people moving in to the room next to ours (another upstairs room accessed by different stairs.) It sounded so much like someone was actually in our room that I got up and checked to be sure no one had come in. Although after this first night our relative schedules were such that we were not too much disturbed by our neighbors, it was clear that the walls are paper thin. I was also disappointed that our porch was right over the laundry room so that for much of the day the sounds and smells made it less pleasant to sit outside. However, by evening it was usually very peaceful and I still count that porch as one of the major assets of our room. Along with many other reviewers I was distressed about the difference in rates between weekends and weekdays.
I mention the few negatives so people will be aware but overall it was a positive experience. A pleasant place in a fantastic location with clean rooms for less money (even considering the weekend rates) than most places in the area - I'd go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stumbled across these little cottages during our last stay and decided to try it out the next time. Well we're sure glad we did as it was one of our most pleasant stays. They do an excellent job in keeping things very clean as that is one of my biggest pet peeves is to stay at a hotel and feel dirty. The setting is very peaceful and can hear the waves of the ocean nearby. We will definitely make this our place to stay when visiting Monterey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LukaH117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Nice little cottages that offer everything you need. Our cottage had a kitchen, living room, large bedroom and bathroom. Rooms are clean, have a king size bed and are perfect if you want to stay a couple of days near Monterey and do some daytrips (tip: whalewatching with Sanctuary Cruises at Moss Landing). The beach (rocky) is very close, within walking distance. Only thing they could work on a bit is the garden, it would be nice to have some seats in front of your cottage.
We stayed there during week days, in the weekend the prices rise sky-high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kc_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The park like setting of cottages is very well done and comfortable. The staff was helpful and mostly friendly. Our room was clean and well appointed with an excellent bed. The wifi needs to be improved as it wasn't strong enough to maintain a full signal.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 107 is the best.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edukehtoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
816 reviews
1.1 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
284 reviews
1.0 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
335 reviews
0.3 km away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#14 of 17 in Pacific Grove
438 reviews
0.3 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2005
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range: ₹ 5,839 - ₹ 13,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing