We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least they refunded our deposit”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The photo above suggests something pastoral but that you can forget. The room with a view had one of those views that only real estate agents are wont to call a vista. They did offer a change of room, that had slightly more view but we decided to move on as this was not what we had expected, at all. They did refund the room deposit so no continued complaint other than the wrong kind of advertising.

Stayed: August 2017
2  Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

These guests booked through an on-line travel agency. There were several communications with him before their arrival including many difficult and specific requests that we were able to accommodate. Our website photos and room information is very accurate and very detailed. A detailed description is sent to ALL guests that book through the on-line travel agents regarding the amenities of Seven Gables and the specific room that was reserved for them. Upon arrival they were not happy with their room and they were offered several other options with lovely ocean views that were immediately rejected. It is always our policy to give an immediate refund if a guest is not happy with their room for any reason. From their other review in the area they appear to have opted to stay at a local Pacific Grove motel which was perhaps able to accommodate their specific requirements,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Overall, Seven Gables Inn is a beautiful property in an equally beautiful location. We stayed in the 2-story, 2-bed/2-bath Jewel cottage and it truly is a gem. The "cottage" feels more like a full-featured house. Completely detached, it is full of windows and light that beams in from all four sides. The living room is spacious and has a large, working fireplace, with a view of the Bay. The kitchen is spacious and even has a petit, formal dining table and chairs. The small fridge is stocked with a variety of soft drinks. Water, granola bars, and peppermints also are made available on a completely complementary basis. The large bedrooms feature luxury linens and views of the Bay. The first floor bedroom even has its own porch and access to a lovey, bricked garden patio.

Breakfast features full continental dining, served in a beautiful dining room with an expansive view of the Monterey Bay coastline. The early evening wine & cheese includes a diverse selection of wines, cheeses that are served along with a vegetable crudités and dessert. Freshly baked cookies and milk are served a little later in the evening. The nightly turn-down service includes the next morning's breakfast menu and Dove chocolates. Outside, guests can enjoy seating areas nestled in gardens and brick patios throughout the property. Seven Gables Inn is a family-owned business with a friendly, well-informed staff that is eager make their guests feel special and spoiled.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank maildfrelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your very detailed and kind comments about your recent stay at Seven Gables in the Jewell Cottage suite.

We hope to have you stay with us on your next visit to the Monterey area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Seal Rocks room, which has giant windows with full ocean views. The view alone was completely worth it. The whole property is decorated with vintage furniture. Stained glass windows everywhere. Breakfast was absolutely amazing; we got there early to get a window seat. Parking was limited and we parked on the street which was a bit of a pain but not too bad. Right across the street is Lover's Point, a wonderful little beach and walking path. I would love o stay at this hotel again!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jemoss404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here in one of the premium rooms. It's like going back in time; quaint old fashioned decor. Staff were efficient and helpful and breakfast was tasty. We had a panoramic view of the shore and the bay from our room. It was an expensive inn, I've stayed in better for less money but I suppose it is a prime piece of real estate on an expensive bit of shore. If you like accommodation that is evocative of days gone by and you don't mind paying extra, this is for you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

this hotel has been on our to do list for a few years and last year we managed to book early to get in, 15 months early! it didn't disappoint in most areas. parking is a bit of an issue as you may have too park in the street as there is only 3 spaces in their car park. there is no charge for this if you can get in. we were in the front building with views over looking the bay, which was really nice to sit and relax after a long day. the room was beautifully decorated and well maintained with antique wood furniture. the room was a bit cramped with the large furniture and big bed but it doesn't deter from the fact that it was liveable. the staff were overly helpful especially when showing the room, access and seating areas. this is their way of doing it and its not something we are used to but it was nice touch. they don't accept tips for anything at all other than giving an envelope at the end of the stay and if you wish to leave something then it is shared between all staff. we did do this as we felt all staff we friendly, efficient and helpful throughout the 3 nights we were there. breakfast is in a room below us in our building but is easily accessible form the other buildings. with window seat looking right across the bay from lovers point to monterey, it was a great start to the day. breakfast was served by two people with hot offerings and a buffet, no shortage of food or servings. the service was excellent. if the hotel is busy its best to get to breakfast early. although the room is big with plenty of large tables, there were times when customers sat on tables already occupied. this is ok if you are fine with it but if you like to eat alone then this may not be avoided.we ate early so it was only getting busy as we left. only down sides are no room safe and no air con, which are the reasons for marking down 1 star. overall a lovely place to stay and would stay here again if we are in the area

Room Tip: front buildings for the bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Guitar_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your very detailed and very positive review of Seven Gables Inn on your trip to the U.S. and the Monterey area. We appreciate your stay with us and for mentioning our attentive, kind staff.

The Breakers Room is one of our larger rooms at Seven Gables but on your next visit please contact us directly and we are happy to help you make a selection between one of our lovely suites (1100 sq. feet, 100 sq. meters) which will offer the more spacious accommodation that you require, on-street parking just in front of the cottage and extra amenities.

We hope to see you on your next visit to California!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.7 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
1.7 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
932 reviews
1.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
0.7 km away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
461 reviews
2 km away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: ₹ 19,081 - ₹ 47,862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing