We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect launching for family adventure”
other travellers have booked this property
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room Entrance to Elk Meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room
Entrance to Elk Meadow
Elk Meadow locals
Roosevelt Elk Cabin
Typical twin beds
Living Room
Typical Kitchen
Queen bedroom
Accessible Bath
Bunk beds for the Kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orick, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DavidROre...
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect launching for family adventure”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We held an extended family event here. We rented 5 of the 6 cabins for a party of 30. This was perfect! There is large field for young children and older children to play Frisbee, badminton or catch or any myriad of games. Just across the street from the houses is a firepit, where we had a fire one evening and cooked hot dogs and roasted marshmellows. It is just minutes from the beach. It is minutes from national parks and ranger led walks and tours. It is also a great launching point for mountain biking. A few of us went off on mountain biking trails leaving right from the cabins. This is only minutes from a UNESCO world heritage site. Our favorite event was hiking the Irvine trail in the Prairie Creek State Park down to Fern Canyon and the beach. Several made the hike from the visitor center. Those with young children drove to the beach and met us at the mouth of Fern canyon. Oh yes - elk do come by - take a photo. Want more? Kayaking at Stone Lagoon - only about 5 miles away - all in the midst of Giant Redwood trees! Perfect location. Comfortable homes, decorated nicely, washer, dryer - very nice for families with young children. Kitchens well stocked for cooking. Small insulated coolers in each home for packing picnic lunch. Orick isn't very big - so for a large group (like ours) you may want to plan on shopping on your way in - stop in Crescent City(north) or Eureka (south) for the bulk of your food supplies. Internet connection worked - most of the time - but the idea is to get away isn't it? What a perfect location! More to do than I could list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlaserTom
Demarest, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cabin (house, really) we stayed in for three nights was spotless and appeared to be brand new. Since Orick has few attractive restaurant options, we bought groceries in Eureka, and did a fair amount of cooking in the cabin. We were pleasantly surprised by how well equipped the kitchen was.

My only complaint was that the beds weren't as comfortable as I'd have liked (I tried two). My wife and daughter thought the beds were fine, though.

After 10 days of camping and hotel rooms, staying in this house was a great way to finish up our vacation.

On our last afternoon, we got a vist from a herd of elk who were grazing right in front of our cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely clean
Liked least: Generally very happy with the property, though I felt the beds could have been more comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublinlad...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in the redwoods”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cabin was right in the middle of the national park. The cabin was very big and had a lovely kitchen with every mod con you could need. There was a washer and dryer in the garage. Washing powder and bounce were provided along with all other cleaning agents you might need. There were plenty of cooking untensils, and was lovely coffee,tea bags and sugar were provided also. You need to bring shampoo and conditioner.
The rooms were large with plenty of storage and there were plenty of towels.
The cabins are near the high way but in a very peaceful setting.
The elk visited right outside our cabin and it was incredible to watch them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting in nature
Liked least: Being near the highway
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRtheIRga...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, clean and well maintained with very helpful manager contact.”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a great alternative to most park facilities. They maintain these well, they have all the amenities of home, and in a beautiful area. It was a great location to see the redwoods. I particularly enjoyed the visiting cats, although if you are allergic you may not, and, though they try to look pathetic, we didn't let them in. There really is Elk viewing in this spot, it's not just a name!
Only the whisk utensil wasn't in good shape...I still put it in the win column.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness, up to date, good for a group.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksleg
DeKalb, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Redwoods Vacation”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 3--a couple and a single on a redwoods vacation. We stayed in the Roosevelt Elk Cabin (#11) at Elk Meadow Village. "Cabin" is misleading: it was a very clean, spacious, well appointed, 3-bedroom house, with full kitchen, laundry, deck, garage, full bath, and second toilet and shower in the laundry room. We hiked in the nearby state and national parks every day during our 7-day stay. Elk Meadow Village was a perfect base for such excursions. There were many bonuses, including fresh blackberries that we picked daily from a long "hedge" on the back border of the property and occasional visits from a herd of elks. The only drawback was the lack of nearby restaurants and good grocery stores. Still, one night we ate at the Palm Cafe in Orick (plain food), one night we took advantage of a fine cookout put on by the Elk Meadow Village proprietors, several nights we cooked in, and two nights we ate at distant restaurants (in Trinidad and Crescent City).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location relative to the redwood parks for daily hiking. Excellent accommodations.
Liked least: Lack of good nearby grocery stores and restaurants.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing