We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Redwoods Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room Entrance to Elk Meadow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Johnny Redwood Cabin
Johnny Redwood Living Room
Entrance to Elk Meadow
Elk Meadow locals
Roosevelt Elk Cabin
Typical twin beds
Living Room
Typical Kitchen
Queen bedroom
Accessible Bath
Bunk beds for the Kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orick, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marksleg
DeKalb, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Redwoods Vacation”
Reviewed 16 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 3--a couple and a single on a redwoods vacation. We stayed in the Roosevelt Elk Cabin (#11) at Elk Meadow Village. "Cabin" is misleading: it was a very clean, spacious, well appointed, 3-bedroom house, with full kitchen, laundry, deck, garage, full bath, and second toilet and shower in the laundry room. We hiked in the nearby state and national parks every day during our 7-day stay. Elk Meadow Village was a perfect base for such excursions. There were many bonuses, including fresh blackberries that we picked daily from a long "hedge" on the back border of the property and occasional visits from a herd of elks. The only drawback was the lack of nearby restaurants and good grocery stores. Still, one night we ate at the Palm Cafe in Orick (plain food), one night we took advantage of a fine cookout put on by the Elk Meadow Village proprietors, several nights we cooked in, and two nights we ate at distant restaurants (in Trinidad and Crescent City).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location relative to the redwood parks for daily hiking. Excellent accommodations.
Liked least: Lack of good nearby grocery stores and restaurants.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mnt62
McCall, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a treasure”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

First the setting was great, near all the great hikes in forest and on the beach. Secondly we have Elk right at our front door during rut season. Thirdly the home was well cared for, they even had coffee, tea for us. Lastly the staff was great. One staff member took us to the trail head for a one way hike and on the way he answered all our questions about the big trees. Oh and by the way they have a hot tub, that we enjoyed at night under the stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of housing
Liked least: Slow internet but it is on satellite and speed is always slow on that
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsha49
Omak, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to rent. The homes are beautiful and well appointed with all the details to make them homey. They are in an excellent location for hikers or people who want to just do small hikes and drive through the majestic redwoods. The elk really are in your back yard. We rented 3 houses for a reunion and they worked out great-- shared meals at different houses-- met at the campfire pit one evening-- it was great. I highly recommend this place for family and friends to gather. The staff was friendly and helpful...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the home and its location
Liked least: There was nothing about the place to dislike.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivv_vin
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent cabin, superb location!”
Reviewed 1 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Lady Bird cabin, which is one of 6 cabins located by Elk Meadow.
The cabin was spotless, with a fully equipped kitchen (8 place settings, cooking utensils and grilling tools, coffee maker, tea kettle, crock pot). The cabin also has tea bags, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper. A market in Orick about 2 miles away has most other groceries. We also used the gas grill to make dinner in the evening.
There is a resident elk herd that lives around the cabins. The location is just off the 101 freeway and is well-marked. Park attractions like the Lady Bird Johnson grove, fern canyon and the tall trees grove are all close by.
The reservation process was easy, and the owner, Donna, sent us an email with detailed directions and instructions which was very helpful since we arrived quite late in the evening.
We only wish we had had more time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, grill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Reviewed 24 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing