We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hat Creek is great! Friendly, clean comfortable, great value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Station
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hat Creek Resort & RV Park
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hat Creek is great! Friendly, clean comfortable, great value.”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We ended our 27 day, 435 mile northbound section hike of the Pacific Crest Trail at Hat Creek on a Sunday afternoon at the very end of September (It snowed two days later!). It's a lovely place, very clean and tidy, expecially the campgrounds, and that's something we can't say for all the other places we visited along the trail. We had a motel room, #7, and it was very spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. Other friends had a cabin and it was also very attractive, clean and comfortable. Our room had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and coffee, so, with fixin's from the store that's part of the resort we were all set for breakfast and lunch. Free Wifi and a great guest laundry (very important to us hiker folks!). Having hiked in, we had no car and it turned out the deli/restaurant was closed (It was very off-season and the restaurant was closed Sunday/Monday.) Luckily, we met the owner as we were checking in and he offered to drive us to the nearest open restaurant (7 miles) and pick us up after dinner. He must have heard our stomachs rumbling. He was so nice! And everyone else we met at the resort was friendly and helpful, too. Lassen National Park nearby, which we hiked through, is a truly lovely, undiscovered gem and the flyfishing on Hat Creek (which flows right thru the resort) is really outstanding (we're told -- didn't get to actually try that ourselves.) We'd definitely go back and, in fact, we're already planning to spend a few days here before we start the next section of the PCT, continuing North to Canada next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0yceMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    16
    12
    13
See reviews for
33
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Esparto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Very disappointing trip this year to say the least, and it saddens me to write this. My family has been going to the Hat Creek area for years and often stayed at the Hat Creek Resort before it was taken over by the current management/corporation. The current managment is not "people friendly", and when you asked one the of their staff a question, the management would step in and sarcastically say "they are just employees." How embarassing for us as well and the "employee." The ladies who checked us in were very nice, but lacked in training...one the most frustrating experiences we ever had! We were there over the Labor Day weekend and you would think they would staff it accordingly, as well as stocking up on basic items in their general store, and maintaining the facility especially the restrooms!. In addition...don't pay cash! My son , who paid cash, was overcharged. They didn't deduct the deposit made several months in advance when he checked in. By the time he realized what had happened there was no way to prove it. When we asked the managment to check on it we were treated poorly, and of course they said we didn't over-pay. Those who have stayed there before know what I am talking about. Their receipts are very confusing. Overall...the rates were to high for what you receive...in both facilities and service. Under the current conditions, and management...we won't go back. I recommend staying at Rippling Waters, Hereford Ranch, Rancheria, or Cassel Campground. Much better customer service!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Motorcycle friendly, We stayed in their little motel, clean rooms w/refer & microwave, great heaters it snowed the night we were there in MAY! Hat Creek across the parking lot from our rooms. Friendly staff
Note; bring some food or snacks very few restaurants in the area and they close early

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vnrcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

What a lovely spot. Too bad it was ruined by loud, obnoxious road construction just 100 yards from our cabin. When asked when it would end, no one knew. Or really even cared. Upon checking out two nights early we were told it would be taken care of, which we assumed to mean we would get our money back. Not true. No apologies, no refund and extremely rude customer service. In addition, no hot water when we got up in the morning. They offered a "scenic, relaxing vacation spot". Not even close. We will never go back.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very friendly staff, perfect out of the way location, clean little hotel, Hat creek flowing just across from the front of rooms, should have packed a fishing pole. The heaters worked very well in the rooms considering it was snowing when we left the next morning on the Harleys. Would definitely go again if we had more time to stay,it's a beautiful area.
NOTE; Be prepared very few restaurants or stores in the area and they close early

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vnrcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Station
32.6 km away
Highlands Ranch Resort
Highlands Ranch Resort
#1 of 1 in Mill Creek
86 reviews
31.0 km away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#1 of 5 in Burney
79 reviews
31.1 km away
Burney Motel
Burney Motel
#2 of 5 in Burney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Shasta Pines Motel
Shasta Pines Motel
#4 of 5 in Burney
71 reviews
31.0 km away
Charm Motel
Charm Motel
#3 of 5 in Burney
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hat Creek Resort & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hat Creek Resort & RV Park

Property: Hat Creek Resort & RV Park
Address: 12533 Highway 44, PO Box 110, Old Station, CA 96071
Region: United States > California > Old Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Old Station
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hat Creek Resort And Rv Park
Hat Creek Resort & Rv Park Hotel Old Station

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing