We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely location and reasonable rates.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Occidental Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location and reasonable rates.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I've stayed here before, I'd say 6 years ago. I found the location great with Colson Road to the ocean just down the street. Very reasonable rates considering the area. The rooms are comfortable and the reception was friendly and accommodating. Occidental itself is a great little town. Check out the Sonoma Canopy tours if you go. My daughter did it and loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James32903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    44
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
25
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Occidental Hotel is centrally located in beautiful Occidental. We had a two queen bed room on the first floor for a total cost of 199. For some unknown reason there is a surcharge or $20 for the two kids that stayed in our room with us. The room was very clean and modern and tastefully decorated. The bed I was in was soft and roly- poly I didn't sleep much it was very uncomfortable. The other guests were for the most part quiet but the walls are very thin and you can hear the people walking upstairs. Loved the delicious popcorn in the lobby- would have enjoyed a DVD player for the room but it was not available. The pool did not open before we left at 11( it was a cool day, but I like to swim) and there was no one at the front desk when I checked to have it opened. We spent few days in the area- loved Occidental and the shops and restaurants- the scenery was beautiful. We ate out and went to the coast and hiked at Pt. Reyes. The choices for lodging are limited and very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfteacher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DANVILLE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for just one night, and knew in advance what we'd be experiencing here. We stayed in one of the "upgraded" rooms. In general, we were satisfied with our stay, not expecting 4* accomodations, and the room had just about everything we needed: small fridge, microwave, decent TV (not flat screen), and comfortable beds and linens. The one thing we noticed was the lighting wasn't great. They need to add wattage to their lightbulbs, or just upgrade their lighting. Very difficult to see much of anything after dark! Also, the popcorn popped in the office, although a nice touch of something different, was very poor quality. After a couple of tastes, I threw mine out. Nothing like what you get at the theatre or even a microwave-popped bag of popcorn at home. Better to have some mints handy.

We stayed on the first floor and have to admit that the noise-level from upstairs was very detectable.

The location was great, though. We stayed there because it was close to our morning destination, a long bike ride over the Bohemian Highway, Cazadero, King Ridge/Meyers Grade and Hwy 1/CA-116. Arriving on late Friday, we were treated to their local farmers market, so loaded up on fresh fruit, and a vendor was selling paella, cooked right there from scratch. Very good restaurants and bakery within easy stroll from the hotel. We especially like Howard's Cafe and Bakery.

All in all, a nice stay . . . if they'd only upgrade their lighting.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if you don't mind carrying up your luggage; get the upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Just completed a four day bike trip in the area and after staying at higher-end B&Bs found Negri's to be a very nice surprise. Very clean and comfortable in a great spot at a reasonable price and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenC1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Have been coming here for years. Always clean, excellent staff, great value, in a truly beautiful setting. Occidental is a must see and Negri's Hotel is the place to stay. Be sure and visit Howard's Station for breakfast and Negri's Restaurant for an amazing Italian lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
12.3 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
10.1 km away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
11.9 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol
11.2 km away
Sebastopol Inn
Sebastopol Inn
#2 of 3 in Sebastopol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
10.9 km away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Hotel

Property: Occidental Hotel
Address: 3610 Bohemian Highway, Occidental, CA 95465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Occidental
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,073 - ₹ 14,853
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Occidental Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled among world famous redwoods in the historic Village of Occidental, this multi star rated hotel is steps from everything the Village has to offer. Walk to fine dining, eclectic shops, and hiking/cycling trails or take a short scenic drive to renowned Wineries, Spas, the Pacific Coast, Bodega Bay and Russian River. With its comfortable rooms, large secluded pool, and affordable rates it's the ideal place to call home during your Wine Country getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Hotel CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing