We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Occidental
Nearby Hotels
Occidental Hotel(Occidental)(Great Value!)
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Ford Hotel(Valley Ford)
US$ 187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farmhouse Inn(Forestville)
US$ 1,144
US$ 512
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastopol Inn(Sebastopol)
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol(Sebastopol)(Great Value!)
US$ 167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at the Tides(Bodega Bay)
US$ 294
US$ 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodega Harbor Inn(Bodega Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodega Bay Lodge(Bodega Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Continental Inn(Tomales)(Great Value!)
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
297
49
8
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
297
49
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgranolawine countrysonoma countyeggs benedictother guestsjacuzzi tubbed and breakfastquaint townthe main housesummer roomwine tastingwine hourbreakfast was deliciouseach eveningbodega baywe've stayedgas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lots of charm and character surrounded by forest. I have lived in California all my life and have never been here. I would come again. Each room has a huge spa tub with jacuzzi. Rooms are big. We were here when it rained and enjoyed the fireplace in our rom.
We drove up the coast and came to occidental from bodega bay and followed the GPS through the forest on an incredible one lane road. We thought we were lost. It was raining hard. We were happily surprised to find this little town of Occidental and a beautiful inn with Victorian charm.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor. I think the handicapped access may be in the main building but these nice rooms are not handicap friendly. It is a unique and charming building in a n old lumbering town so probably not up to all standards.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We actually stayed here many years ago when it was Heart's Desire Inn. We were so impressed, we kept the original brochure. With the new owner's, Jerry and Tina, it hasn't changed a bit. If anything, the breakfast and hospitality was even better. It was a very pleasant experience and would not hesitate to recommend for your next stay in this beautiful area of Northern California!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We traveled to SanFrancisco in early November, and were recomended by friends to visit Sonoma County. Our search led us to Occidental, small little town with amazing Redwoods. We made our reservation and the staff was very accomidating for our last minute requests. Nice room and amenities mith just enough cabin feel to give us a retreat type experience. Plenty of fresh air and fantastic Sonoma County wine made a great 3 day getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kc3_newyorklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I live about 30 minutes away. This place is our stay close to home getaway. We have stayed at the inn four times now and have never been disappointed. We even booked a room once over Christmas break and found the most adorable dog at the animal shelterthe same day as our reservation. I was ready to surrender my room fee, little did I know that they actually have rooms that are pet friendly. The breakfast is to die for, and the all night coffee, tea,cookie station is a wonderful touch. We have priced out several other inns in Sonoma County and none compared. Most have out dated decor and an old grandmothers house feeling. The Inn at occidental is a great updated place to stay for a cozy night away with your spouse and some drinks-whether local or not give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Occidental Inn over a weekend in early October. The weather was wonderful and there are some great restaurants and wineries relatively close by.


Likes
- Layout: We stayed in the "Wine Country" room which is on the bottom floor of the newer / annex building. It had its own entrance and porch
- Excellent breakfast and afternoon wine tasting with very friendly service throughout


Dislikes:
- Room noise travels. We could hear the bed springs and filling of the bathtub of our upstairs neighbors
- The beds are relatively soft and squeaky. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and these are not high on my rank order list of comfortable.
- Our deck had no view ~ I wish there had been more detail on the website of the different decks / views, etc

We probably wouldn't choose to stay here again as the value relative to the price paid wasn't what we were hoping for. That said, it is a good facility in a great area!

Room Tip: Try and get the high floors of the annex building
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NA69Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews