We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be careful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I was looking for an affordable hotel near SF also convenient for tourists without a car. I chose here based on good rating on tripadvisor.
I was on my way to this hotel, someone talked to me right near Coliseum BART station. He told me the shuttle will pick me up to BART station (I soon figured out there's no shuttle from/to BART station). Then he forced me to take a #73 bus. Before getting on a bus, he asked me for money.

The room was mediocre, not as nice as photos on their website. It's a good place to just sleep. Housekeeping wasn't perfect. When I used the phone, I found a crumb of cheese on it. Bathroom was relatively clean. Shower drained well, hot water temperature didn't stay constant. Minimum amenities, no hair conditioner and body lotion. Elevators worked a little bit slowly. Ice machines seemed rundown and not clean. On a positive note, the front desk staff was very helpful and professional.

There are tons of fast food and restaurants nearby - Denny's, BK, Taco Bell, etc. Wal-mart and another grocery store are in walking distance. But be careful of people hanging out in Wal-mart parking lot.
Only a couple of minutes walk to the bus stop. Just one stop to Coliseum BART station. It's easy to go to SF or downtown Oakland though you should get back before getting dark. Like front desk guy said, it costs $7 taking a cab from hotel to BART station.

Overall, this hotel wasn't bad considering the price. However, I wouldn't recommend staying here if your number one priority is being safe.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lonestar_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    239
    254
    100
    79
See reviews for
239
205
98
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

As most airport areas are a little sketchy, this was not an exception. We had a comfortable bed, hot shower and felt safe as their was a fence around property. Close to BART, driving to it, that is. We would not recommend walking. Homeless, etc around the area. If want to save money for your days in San Francisco and not on your accommodations, this is fine. Just not for the faint of heart. Hotel can not be faulted for the area. The coffee was hot, breakfast adequate, nothing more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappygoluckyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This location was great for us because it right off the freeway, next to the airport, and there's a BART station within 5 minutes, along with the Oracle Arena and Coliseum in sight. I had great service all around starting with the reservations call, he gave us an upgrade for half price because we needed the fridge and microwave for the babies bottles. The rooms were very clean and I felt safer then I err thought I would in oakland. The building requires you to have a key to enter which made me feel so much better. The breakfast was just like any other continental breakfast but they did have a cheap but good Chinese food place that delivered room service really fast. The shuttle for the airport showed up right on time and the guy was quick and didn't show a bit of complaints about our 6 huge heavy duffle bags. Overall I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brookie3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amboy, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed a couple of nights, room was clean and comfortable. Noisy room, trhough, elevator and entrance ourside of door and any activiry in the hallway was clearly audible in the room. two miles from the airport.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastopol, ca
Level Contributor
400 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

i am rating this as a park & fly hotel-- it's not a location i would stay at for any other reason. this is not a high end hotel, but it is a perfect and very economical option if flying out of the oakland airport. (our room came with up to 10 days of parking, which cost about the same as the parking alone would have cost at the airport.)

room was a typical days inn room. decent size. minimal amenities in the bath. but the beds were very comfortable, and the room was fairly large. front desk staff was friendly and helpful. our room, on the first floor, was super quiet-- we heard no noise from upstairs or elsewhere.

breakfast was included-- just toast, cereal, coffee and such...enough to take the edge off so that you don't have to pay a fortune for something at the airport before the flight. that is really very helpful when you are frenzied traveler.

the best thing about the days inn hotel is that the shuttle picked us up on time, and delivered us to the airport in about 6 minutes. they did not make any stops after our pickup-- which was wonderful. the driver was also very nice.

we will definitely stay at the days inn next time we fly out. it's nothing special to look at from the outside, but the stay fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#27 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
2.9 km away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum

Property: Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Address: 8350 Edes Avenue, Oakland, CA 94621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,944 - ₹ 10,677
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn has a property that will meet your needs, no matter what your travel occasion, whether you are on business or vacation, we have a hotel for you. Discover all the sunsational services provided at each tier of the Days Inn brand: Days Inn, Days Hotel, and Days Inn & Suites. Free Daybreak Breakfast: Enjoy a complimentary breakfast at participating locations. Get a sunny start with a delicious and nutritious assortment of your morning favorites. SolTerre Shower and Sleep Experience: Revitalize yourself with our new SolTerre shower experience and amenities - exclusively at Days Inns! Also enjoy a better night's sleep at Days Inns with improved bed comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Oakland
Oakland Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing