We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“LOVELY STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We ended up staying in Oakland as the hotels in Downtown SFO where either overpriced or fully booked. Great little hotel just a few steps from the BART station. Stayed with my husband and 2 children and the room accommodated all 4 of us beautifully. Great little restaurant for breakfast offering a healthy range of breakfast options. Only downside is restaurant doesn't open in the evening but if you're desperate you could go across the road to the Marriott. Only 3 stops on the Bart to Powell Street - very easy. After flying from Australia with a 12 hour delay we were made to feel very well (even though we arrived at Midnight). Caught the BART all the way from the Airport to 12th St Oakland and it couldn't not have been easier. If I can to it and 11pm at night with a moaning husband and two little kids then anyone can. Great little hotel. Earthnet in room and wi-fi in the lobby. We actually stayed for one night at the Marriott Oakland also and I prefer the Courtyard handsdown. Small heated hotel outside and spa inside and a gym. Not really a kids hotel but my girls loved it. Nice little hotel and can strongly recommend it - and as I'm a Travel Agent I shall!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    132
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
46
55
36
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Nice clean Room very quiet very friendly staff I would highly recommend .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Happy Guest,
Thank you for your compliments regarding your guest room and friendly staff. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel. I hope we will see you again soon!

Monika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My friends were in town for a special get together event. I met them at front lobby and made sure everything went well for check in. Afterwards they were hungry and starving so being not familar with area they ask the front desk of any recommdations and for some reasons they said look at the printed flyer on the counter. The front desk people seems like my friends were a bothersome to them. We took the flyer and look at it but counllnt figure out where to go. Step out to get our car while waiting for valet we ask a Asian guy who seems like a local just chatting with friends out front. We ask him which place would you recommend for Chinese? He told me its not a fancy place nor hole in the wall just a place to get good food at a reasonable price. The place he told us was within walking distances. Located inside pacific rennasance on Franklin/9th. This place wasn't even on the flyer and the food was delicious, $37 serves a family of 4. After we finish we walk back to hotel and the guy that told us about the place was there and we thank him so much. Funny thing is he donto work there but was more helpful than workers at hotel. My friend handed him a $5 bill but he decline and said give it to the valet. He save us on gas,time and money on his recommendation. Who ever you are thank you again and if we see you again we're definitely taking your words.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8eats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we are happy you enjoyed one of the many diverse restaurants in the Downtown area. Ensuring our guests’ satisfaction is a top priority and we hope we can have the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next stay with us. We hope you and your friends enjoyed the event which brought you to the Downtown area!
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed at the Courtyard Marriott last night in Oakland. Generally like all Courtyards. This is the worst I have ever seen. It is true they are about to renovate the common areas, but the rooms will not be redone until 2013. The mattresses had big, big indentations which made it hard to sleep. The air conditioning unit was hard to understand. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay at our hotel. We are sorry your experience was not a positive one, however our room renovation is complete and we are very excited about all of our new changes! I hope you will give us the opportunity to host your next visit should your travels bring you back to the Bay Area.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque,NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed here so we could be within striking distance of downtown San Francisco without paying the high prices in the city. The hotel has a couple of things going for it. It is a block away from the Bart and you can walk to Jack London Square to get the ferry. There is a grocery store across the street. There are several restaurants within walking distance. You are in the heart of Chinatown. The area is seedy but it did not seem unsafe.
The hotel has comfortable beds and was quiet. The room was clean. However, the towels were old, tattered and thin. They make you valet park your car. We would call down for our car and every time, they would say it will be ready in 5 minutes. So we would go down in 10 minutes and the Valets would not have the car, nor were they aware that we requested it. On our last day there, they lost our keys and made us late for an appointment. Total incompetence! The hot tub and pool area is creepy and the breakfast is inedible! It was not very expensive but we probably won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Eat at Shan Dong. Best Chinese in the Bay Area! It is in Oakland right off 10th street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J&CinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaklandCourtyard, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for the restaurant tip. Shan Dong is an excellent choice for Chinese cuisine, and very close to the hotel! We are sorry to hear about your valet experience and want to ensure you this not typical. I would love to have a follow up conversation to make sure everything was resolved to your satisfaction. You can reach best reach me via email using monika.starosky@ihrco.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,
Monika Starosky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 km away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.8 km away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 km away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
3.1 km away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Property: Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,891 - ₹ 23,320
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. Additional fees: Self-Parking: 40 USD Valet: 30 USD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing