We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Stars for Shuttle Service and More” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Five Stars for Shuttle Service and More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a Holiday Inn, so of course it's not a "five star" hotel. BUT! what wonderful service, etc.

We were planning to fly out of the Oakland airport before dawn the next morning, so returned our car to the airport the evening before. Holiday Inn came to the RENTAL CAR center in five minutes flat and brought us straight to the hotel - van driver was pleasant, courteous and helpful. In the morning, we got an "on demand" shuttle a 4:30 a.m., and it was right there on the spot. Again, helpful and courteous.

In addition: the double-bedded rooms have TWO KING SIZE beds! Who ever heard of such a thing?! Very nice indeed.

Lastly, there's a sports bar/restaurant downstairs. Not high end, but no fewer than six beers on tap including microbrews. Food acceptable if not gourmet.

Only down side: thin walls. Neighbor was watching TV and talking in a normal tone of voice, and we could hear him.

For the price, you can't beat the value!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    104
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
71
54
18
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

You'd think that it being close to the airport, that this hotel is noisy and not a good location for a hotel. However, it is very quiet, even outside, and its right near the entrance of airport and also close to the freeway. I had a very comfortable stay and the breakfast was better than other hotels.

Room Tip: Choose the King feature room.. Its roomy and has the feel of a suite without the hefty pricetag..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrod0748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marin, ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband and I purchased a 'Park,Stay and Go' package which included breakfast and parking for 7 days. Check in was flawless and the clerk confirmed my Priority Club number and the package. She said to take advantage of the 'happy hour' and 'free breakfast' at the Diamond Grille and directed me to the location in the hotel. She gave me a initialed yellow slip and told me to give it to our server in the morning before ordering and $20 would be deducted from our breakfast total. I had requested a quiet room on a higher floor because we had a very early flight the next morning. Unfortunately (1), we were assigned a room just adjacent to the elevator and directly next to the vending/ice machines which remained busy with dispensing and conversation throughout the night. Yes, we could have requested a different room but just decided to tough it out for one night. We went downstairs to the Diamond Grille 'happy hour'. Unfortunately(2), wine and beer were not included in the 'happy hour' so we paid regular price. We had a 'so so' dinner and I told my husband I was going to take my almost full glass of wine back to our room. He said he would bring it. He asked the bartender if she could top it off and she said 'Sure'. Unfortunately (3) he didn't realize until he came back up stairs that she had charged him for another FULL glass of wine and he had tipped her generously. The restaurant opened for breakfast at 6am and we were ready because again we had an early flight. We were given menu's and coffee and I gave the server the 'yellow slip'. He said we were only entitled to the 'continental breakfast' and directed us to the bagel/muffin bar. I explained that I was told at check in that $20 would be deducted from our breakfast and that our confirmation slip had noted a full breakfast with our package. Unfortunately (4)he said in a very surly tone "I can't confirm that" and pointed to the continental breakfast bar. I showed him the initials on the back and asked him to confirm it with her but she wasn't there. He wanted the yellow slip but I told him I was going to keep it and take it up with HI. I still have it as well as my confirmation indicating the breakfast package and responded to HI when they asked me to review our stay at the hotel. Unfortunately(5), I haven't heard a word from them. When we returned from our trip, we called the shuttle for pick up. They arrived within 20 minutes with a van filled with occupants. I thought they were being let off but unfortunately (6) no. We squeezed into the van and went for a wild ride to the Oakland Coliseum where a football game was beginning. My husband and I figured that out when we flew past the hotel and headed into unknown territory (back of the Coliseum) and everyone got out of the shuttle. The driver never said a word. Then we arrived back at the hotel about 20 more minutes later. Admittedly, we usually stay at the Hilton next door when we park and fly but I thought we would try the 'New' Holiday Inn and thought the breakfast was a perk while being slightly less expensive. Unfortunately (7), it was not what we expected and won't be back. There are plenty of other park and fly hotels in the area. Hopefully with more informed, competent and professional personnel. I want to exclude the sweet girl who checked us in (unless she was incorrect about the $20 breakfast and in spite of being placed in such a noisy room) and housekeeping because although the room was noisy, it was large, comfortable and clean. Of course, we tipped housekeeping and only God knows why, the shuttle driver. We did NOT tip the rude, cranky non-breakfast server. Unfortunately (8) he decided since he could not retrieve the 'yellow slip' that he would charge us $4.35 for our 2 cups of coffee...even though there was a huge urn of free coffee for guests right outside the restaurant in the lobby. Unfortunately (9) we will not be returning to the Holiday Inn @77 Hegenberger and will probably exclude the Holiday Inn Express as well just because this was such a disappointing and unfortunate experience from IHG. We are considering discarding our Priority Club cards altogether. Unfortunately.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a higher floor away from elevators and ice/vending machines. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cydona46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I booked this airport hotel because I had an overnight stay in Oakland between flights on New Year's Eve. Instead of a relaxing overnight stay, I walked into a messy New Year's Eve party. I arrived a few minutes after midnight, and loud music was blaring, some drunks tried to get into our airport shuttle before we even had a chance to get out, and people were walking around the lobby spilling drinks. There was vomit in the elevator. This is supposed to be an airport hotel, where people stay overnight between flights, not a party destination, regardless of the date. If I had wanted a New Year's Eve party, I would have stayed downtown. The staff were overwhelmed by all the people drinking and demanding things of them. There appeared to be only two people on duty, and this was not enough. We were forced to take a room on the second floor, close enough to the loud party in the lobby (that continued past 1:30am) to hear it though our window from the street. The door was not soundproof, and we could hear the ice machine all night. Who needs ice at 5am? This was a very frustrating experience. I will not stay at this hotel again.

That said, the hotel itself is very nice for a Holiday Inn. The room was large and clean, with modern furnishings. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice. There were lots of channels to watch on TV (which helped to mask the sounds of the party). The staff were friendly, and they gave us free breakfast vouchers because they knew we were not happy with the situation in the hotel. I just don't understand why an airport hotel would allow this type of partying in their hotel when the majority of its clients are by definition travelers who need to sleep. My advice: call ahead to make sure that there is no party scheduled the night of your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackintheUSSR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Despite a few shortcomings such as the lackluster front desk at check in and a bathroom exhaust fan not working... this is the best of the OAK airport area. I've stayed at many in the area and always find this HI very clean, comfortable and YES.. FULL service!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upgradeThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 77 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,377 - ₹ 16,296
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport is the Holiday Inn of the future! This newest Oakland Airport Hotel near San Francisco is just one mile from Oakland International Airport (OAK), and offers free shuttle to destinations within five miles of the hotel.In Oakland, you'll find a variety of attractions within close proximity of our hotel. We are one mile from the McAfee Coliseum-Home of the Oakland Raiders & Oakland Athletics, and Oracle Arena - Home of the Golden State Warriors, and just minutes away from Jack London Square and the Metropolitan Golf Course. Our hotel's location near San Francisco makes it easy to visit the 'City by the Bay.' Business travelers enjoy our close proximity to National Automotive, Unisys Corporation, Waste Management, FedEx, UPS, Rainin Instruments and other businesses in Oakland. Lodging in our hotel makes it easy to utilize the 24-hour business center as well as over 3,000 square feet of meeting space. With a heated, outdoor pool and a fitness center as well as an on-site convenience store and Diamonds Sports Bar & Grill, our guests receive excellent services from our new hotel in Oakland. All rooms feature triple-sheeted king beds, 32-inch flat panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and work spaces with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. For top-quality service in an ideal location, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Oakland Airport
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing