We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good stay ! Big room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay ! Big room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We have great stay there ! Value for money and we got big room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    384
    178
    51
    24
See reviews for
285
374
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Perfect place to chill out after the Yosemite experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I visit Oakhurst several times a year, as we have family there. I booked this hotel because the one I usually stay at was booked for the weekend. My cousin and I had a nice room with two queen beds, but the sheets seemed to be made out of burlap. The TV channel selections were minimal and the ice machine on our floor was not working. The elevator is the slowest in Christendom and I avoided using it unless absolutely necessary.

At 10:30 on Saturday evening, I called down to the front desk for an extra blanket (it was snowing that night) and extra pillows, as I have a back condition. I was blithely told that if I wanted the items, I would have to go downstairs and get them myself. I was then treated to a ten minute tirade about how the front desk lady was the ONLY staff member present for the night and she could not leave the front desk for any reason. I did without the items, since I was undressed already and was not willing to parade myself through a hotel in my well worn pj's for all the world to see, Never in all of my travels have I ever been expected to fetch my own linen - even at cheap places like Travel Lodge or Motel 6!

I guess as an energy saving effort, some of the lights in the room had motion sensors; so all night the light over the TV would go on and off as it responded to the smallest of movements such as a person rolling over in bed! Needless to say, we were treated to this impromptu light show all night and were awakened several times.

Having only one staff person responsible for the entire hotel all night was disconcerting; I felt it unsafe for the employee and inconvenient for the guests. The breakfast was sparse: one of the waffle machines and part of the juice dispenser were broken and kids from a traveling church group cleaned out all the food by 8:30 AM - so there was little left for us grownups. Had breakfast at a coffee shop at the foot of the parking lot where the hostess treated me to a 10 minute political diatribe while I paid for my meal. Weird experience all around and I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isidis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNsightDotcom, Manager at Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Isidis,
Thank-you for taking the time to submit a review for Yosemite Southgate Hotel. I am very sorry to learn of your disappointment with our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guest the utmost service and comfort. When we fail to uphold our high standards, as in your case, we are very disappointed and concerned. I assure you that all area's you spoke of have been addressed.
Thank-you again for bringing these areas of improvement to our attention. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

Thank-you!
Debbie Mackey- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a great hotel, about 45mins away from the National Park entrance. The room was big, and clean, with a great view of the mountains. There are a few restaurants located nearby, and it's directly opposite the tourist information centre, which everyone should visit before visiting the park as they have maps, and the latest travel/ road info.

The only let down was the breakfast, but there are a few places nearby to grab an early bite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlievamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Excellent place to spend the night before entering the National Park. It´s just miles away and allowes you to go in the park early in the morning.
The staff is the "friendliest". They helped us on everything we needed.
In addition, there is a few good restaurants nearby. I recommend the Italian one.
The breakfast is not excellent, but good enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.7 km away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
39.5 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
8.1 km away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites

Property: Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
Address: 40644 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9666 (Formerly Shilo Inn Yosemite Southgate Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,685 - ₹ 15,567
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites is located in Oakhurst, California only minutes away from the south gate entrance to Yosemite National Park on Highway 41. The Yosemite Southgate Hotel offers some of the most spacious suite type rooms located nearby Yosemite. With interior corridors and an elevator and ample parking for tour buses, The Southgate Hotel offers a perfect place to stay for groups of all sizes and types. Located minutes from Bass Lake, the Yosemite Southgate Hotel is the perfect hotel to stay at when visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Hotel Oakhurst
Shilo Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing