We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanitation disaster in the making”
Review of Treats

Treats
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Nevada City
Certificate of Excellence
Description: handmade ice cream, sorbet Gelato and vegan options
Restaurant details
Description: handmade ice cream, sorbet Gelato and vegan options
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Treats - We love their product, but the sanitation and hygiene practices of workers in the store are enough to make me never come back. We visited today and stayed for approximately 30 minutes. While we watched employees scoop ice cream, we also watched them touch their faces, hair, and noses, then return to scooping ice cream.

There is no division of responsibilities in this store, so the same person who handles your money is the same one scooping ice cream (do you know how filthy money, credit cards, and the computer tablet is after many people have touched these items?)

No one washed their hands between these activities, and no one was wearing gloves. Additionally, one customer returned from the restroom and handed back the key to the employee who was making and rolling waffle cones. The employee took the key, hung it back on the hook, and continued handling the waffle dough with her hands. Is it possible that this restroom key could have E coli or other bacteria, viruses, or germs on it? One employee was wearing nail polish? This might seem like a small detail, but it used to be this was not allowed when you were handling food products to prevent polish from chipping off and ending up in your food.

I'm shocked by the lack of training and the lack of hygienic practices by your employees. Sorry, Treats, we can't come back. This is terrible.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rothwell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Owner at Treats, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, we have spoken with our employees and addressed your concerns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018

The unique flavors of icecream are amazing!! Some never seen anywhere else, and they are so good. Always lively, fun staff, doesn't take long to get icecream even when the line is out the door. If you are in Nevada City and like icecream, this is the spot!

Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Owner at Treats, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Treats has the best ice cream and unique, interesting flavors. My husband and I love the vibe and friendly staff. The Bourbon Breakfast ice cream is one of our favorites!

Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Owner at Treats, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank You for the great review!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Treats is a must visit place! The ice cream was so fresh and incredibly delicious - very natural flavors! I sampled several flavors and decided on the mint chocolate chip - the mint tasted like fresh mint from the garden. I think I may be spoiled from ever having a mint chocolate chip ice cream cone from another place! Wait staff was friendly and helpful - very willing to allow us to sample before making a decision. Wish our stay had been longer so I could try all the other flavors!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Owner at Treats, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for the very nice review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

One of our favorite things to do in towns is to find the local ice cream shop! We haven't been to Treats since they relocated to a larger spot that's easy to access! Still as great as we remembered from our last visit a few years back! Not all flavors are made in-house but all by small creameries. Excellent ice cream!!

Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy W, Owner at Treats, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for the kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Treats? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing