We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in a corporate park; not exactly quintessential Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Located in a corporate park; not exactly quintessential Napa”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were disappointed to find that this hotel is more like a conference center and is located in a corporate office park at the edge of downtown Napa. Oddly, the Wifi did not work in the room and when we called about it twice, the front desk's response was, "Oh, it often doesn't work with Apple computers." The rooms were comfortable and clean although there was only one hook for towels in the entire bathroom. The entire place felt like it was trying to imitate a spa rather than really being one; it had a pool, a spa, etc., but none of the coziness you'd expect. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences we cause during your stay. Our wi-fi is something we are looking into and hope to have a solution very soon. We hope that you'll try us again and experience our world-class Spa and Wine tasting room. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    507
    266
    97
    75
See reviews for
250
747
23
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dixon, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Is it possible to be very unhappy with a Resort when you don't even get past making a reservation? I found out today that it is. I purchased a Groupon to stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa for a weekend. The first day that Groupon purchasers were permitted to make a reservation was February 15. I called at 9 a.m. on February 15 to make a reservation since the Groupon was only good until mid-May. Instead of handling my call, they took my name and number and told me that they would call back that day. I was not called back so at 4 p.m. I called back. Once again they would not take my reservation and said that they would call back that day. After several calls to the Meritage on February 16, they called back at about 3:30 p.m. I told them 4 different weekends that I was available to use the Groupon. They told me that there were no Groupon rooms available on any of those weekends even though I called at 9 a.m. on the first day that reservations were accepted. Then came the bait and switch. I was told that if I would pay $50 more a night I could get a room on one of those weekends. I refused to pay the extra money and now I must deal with Groupon to get a refund. Customer service and ethics are obviously low priorities at the Meritage.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank CantUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageResort1, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your interest in the Meritage Resort and Spa. I do apologize for the inconvenience regarding making your reservation as this is far from a common occurrence here at the resort. We are definitely busy making reservations with the Group On promotion, however there is no excuse for the way your request was handled. Please contact my Reservations Manager Elisse Peck at 707-251-1904 and she will be happy to find a solution for you. If you would like to speak with me directly, please call 707-251-1901. Thank you again for bringing this to my attention as I have taken all proper steps to prevent this from happening to other guests.

Michael M. Palmer, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Beautiful property: the rooms are elegant, clean, and spacious. The washrooms are nice - loved the shower setup. We stayed at a 3rd floor suite and had great views of the pool and vineyard. The lobby is nicely layed out. The pool and jacuzzi was very nice and clean. Relaxing experience. Large and beautiful patio on the ground floor with views of the pool. Great for morning coffee or catch up with emails. Free and fast Wifi.

There is no where to walk around other than just around the pool. It would have been really nice to have walking path along the vineyard especially after all the dining:)

The restaurant (Sian), however was not a good experience. It was average food trying to be Tuscan or something, but just really not well done or tasty. And really over priced for what it was. Fake and pretentious atmosphere. I would recommend eating at the lobby bar if you have to or somewhere off the resort.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother with the restaurant. Over-priced for what they offer and not very good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for the excellent review! We want to let you know that there IS a walking path that goes through the vineyards, and we apologize for not being more informative about this. We hope you'll return soon to experience it, and we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a terrible disappointment. I was so fooled by their website, which seems to advertise a place in the middle of a vineyard, not a place in the middle of a corporate park. This place is more a Marriot/Days Inn type place but more "up-scale". They are also next to this time-share Shell vacation thing that EVERYONE in the hotel is going to try to talk to you about.

Ok, so the ambiance was lacking, but we decided to make due. We went down to talk to the concierge and got the worst service ever! Greg, the concierge, was so weirdly rude I was almost convinced it was an act. Although he was mildly helpful, he rushed through the information and seemed only interested in selling you things the hotel had partnerships with. Including this freaking time-share.

The cave area was ok, tho they only carry the wine the hotel owner produces. Another indication that they are NOT interested in the best service for you, but selling you products that make them more money.

Oh and Greg was not the only rude concierge (it seems like a pre-requisite to being hire there is "do you hate people and life?" "hired!") We came down around 5:30 to get the free shuttle and this lady is sitting in front of her computer, ignores us for a few minutes, this was our interaction:

Us - "Hi, we want to take the shuttle to downtown Napa for dinner"
Lady - "yeah 6pm" (doesn't even look up)
Us - "Do you recommend any restaurants?
Lady - "you don't have a reservation!!!" (rolls her eyes) "good luck" (turns back to computer an ignores us.

WTF! A helpful concierge would have told me about 5 restaurants that are great and then offered to make us a reservation. "good luck" lady this is your JOB!

Added bonus, we checked out and had an extra room service charge on our bill. We didn't make the charge, and it took 20 minutes to sort it out. The guy at the front desk was nice and apologized profusely, but that the cherry on top of a dreadful weekend.

If you are looking for fake charm, overpriced small rooms, an obnoxious clientèle and rude concierge service all in the middle of a parking lot and no where near anything in Napa (inspite the "centrally located" advertisement) then the Meritage is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We can assure you the service you received is not conducive of our normal quality. We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we can make up for the issues you encountered last time. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at the Meritage Resort in Napa. The value for money is really good. Enjoyed the spa services. Loved the food! I´ll be interested to see the changes from this spring´s expansion project. Because we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We are elated you enjoyed the spa services at The Meritage Resort and Spa. It is truly an asset to our resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
5.9 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,994 reviews
6.5 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.6 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
6.6 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
18.7 km away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,006 - ₹ 41,951
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing