We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fake charm, poorly located, overpriced small rooms, and rude concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fake charm, poorly located, overpriced small rooms, and rude concierge”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a terrible disappointment. I was so fooled by their website, which seems to advertise a place in the middle of a vineyard, not a place in the middle of a corporate park. This place is more a Marriot/Days Inn type place but more "up-scale". They are also next to this time-share Shell vacation thing that EVERYONE in the hotel is going to try to talk to you about.

Ok, so the ambiance was lacking, but we decided to make due. We went down to talk to the concierge and got the worst service ever! Greg, the concierge, was so weirdly rude I was almost convinced it was an act. Although he was mildly helpful, he rushed through the information and seemed only interested in selling you things the hotel had partnerships with. Including this freaking time-share.

The cave area was ok, tho they only carry the wine the hotel owner produces. Another indication that they are NOT interested in the best service for you, but selling you products that make them more money.

Oh and Greg was not the only rude concierge (it seems like a pre-requisite to being hire there is "do you hate people and life?" "hired!") We came down around 5:30 to get the free shuttle and this lady is sitting in front of her computer, ignores us for a few minutes, this was our interaction:

Us - "Hi, we want to take the shuttle to downtown Napa for dinner"
Lady - "yeah 6pm" (doesn't even look up)
Us - "Do you recommend any restaurants?
Lady - "you don't have a reservation!!!" (rolls her eyes) "good luck" (turns back to computer an ignores us.

WTF! A helpful concierge would have told me about 5 restaurants that are great and then offered to make us a reservation. "good luck" lady this is your JOB!

Added bonus, we checked out and had an extra room service charge on our bill. We didn't make the charge, and it took 20 minutes to sort it out. The guy at the front desk was nice and apologized profusely, but that the cherry on top of a dreadful weekend.

If you are looking for fake charm, overpriced small rooms, an obnoxious clientèle and rude concierge service all in the middle of a parking lot and no where near anything in Napa (inspite the "centrally located" advertisement) then the Meritage is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize if we were unable to live up to your expectations. We can assure you the service you received is not conducive of our normal quality. We hope that you'll join us again soon, so we can make up for the issues you encountered last time. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    497
    258
    93
    70
See reviews for
238
727
22
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Had a wonderful weekend at the Meritage Resort in Napa. The value for money is really good. Enjoyed the spa services. Loved the food! I´ll be interested to see the changes from this spring´s expansion project. Because we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We are elated you enjoyed the spa services at The Meritage Resort and Spa. It is truly an asset to our resort! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Such a wonderful spot and so close to SF too. I took my wife to the Meritage Resort in January and we were so impressed by the level of service and follow-through that the Meritage management and staff showed during our stay.
I am a frequent traveller and rarely do I get the level of service shown by the staff and management of Meritage.

Room Tip: Try their cappucino
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear an experienced traveler raving about The Meritage Resort and Spa, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

WOW we have to say what a great time we had at the Meritage Resort. It was my first time going to a health spa in Napa and I was thoroughly impressed.
The Meritage Management is a wonderful bunch of people who will go out of their way to help someone staying at their resort. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan Nackas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for reviewing us! We truly take pride in our team and the serve we provide our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I are booked to stay at the Meritage this weekend. Earlier today I talked with someone over the phone and said I'd call back to make the reservation after checking the arrangement with my daughter and her husband who are joining us. When I called back, I spoke with a different reservations agent and it turned out that the person I had talked with earlier had made a mistake in what she had offered. I was transferred to the front desk and then to a manager who explained there had been a misunderstanding on the part of his staff member, apologized for the complication it had created in making my reservation, and he would honor what I had originally been offered. Everyone makes mistakes, but not everyone resolves them in a way that leaves the customer feeling more positive about the establishment than before. Everyone in this chain of communication was very pleasant and professional, and I appreciate the value they evidently place on customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHCNPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for this excellent review! We apologize for any confusion, and we are pleased to hear that it was resolved almost seamlessly. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
6.5 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.9 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
5.6 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
6.6 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
19.0 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,604 - ₹ 42,169
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing