We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth the time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendry Ranch Wines

Hendry Ranch Wines
Ranked #16 of 182 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

So informative and interesting - enjoyed every minute and learned so much!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyawilson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    18
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Information and tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I had a day to visit Napa and I picked up HRW based on reviews at Tripadvisor.
April is not best time to visit vineyards. There was nothing to see there. The buds are still to come out. I did not get a chance to visit any other winery but whatever I experienced was worth a visit HRW. Good 2 hours tour with 10 different wine tasting and knowledge about different wines. I bought a wine priced at 23$ and the 20$ tasting was waived.
Overall good trip but disappointed with time of the year I choose to visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kmalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every dime and minute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The property is very beautiful and the service is outstanding from the moment you reserve over the phone. Very easy to find property and we started on time. We were lucky enough to have the owner George Hendry as our guide, try and get him he is wonderful. You can tell he loves what he does and makes your time worthwhile as a learning experience and gives you no bs, just as he says. He is more than willing to answer every question that comes to mind and even during the tasting gives you suggestions of which wine is best combine with what kind of food. Plus he goes into the science behind it all. I would go again and take my whole family.

Helpful?
2 Thank Cristal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best of the best in Napa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

As all the other reviewers have said, this should be your first stop in Napa. George is 2nd generation Hendry, and he is by far one of the most knowledgeable and down to earth people you will ever meet. Pride for his wines and knowledge of his craft is evident in every comment he makes. We learned so much about wine and wine making that when you go to the other tours you miss not having George there!
Thank you George for sharing your knowledge so freely!
If you plan to go, call them or send an email, these tours fill up fast. Two tours per day, one at 10 and one at 2 , don't miss out on this great experience. The tour and tasting will take about 2 hours.
There is a $20 fee that will be waived if you buy wine.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SdR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go Here First!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We chose this tour because of other Tripadvisor reviews, and we were so glad we did. Everything else has already been said...we'll just add to the chorus of praise for this tour. George Hendry, the second generation owner and "payer of the bills" leads guests out into the vineyard for a two hour education about vine growing, grape harvesting and finally, wine making. Then, its inside to see the juicing and fermenting area. Upstairs, you return to a sit-down tasting of a full flight of all ten wines that the winery is currently offering. The tour and the tasting is only $20! George continues your education about taste, wine and food. If you go here first, you will use the education you received at every other winery you visit. Don't forget, if you buy wine, the tasting fee is waived!! Thanks George...we had the best time!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TightTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendry Ranch Wines also viewed

 

Been to Hendry Ranch Wines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing