We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hendry Ranch Wines

Hendry Ranch Wines
Ranked #20 of 185 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I went here because it was rated so highly on tripadvisor. It was fantastic. Sweet man who has run and owned the vineyard for 40 years (George) takes you from sup to nuts in the process and agriculture of growing grapes and making wine. The grounds are beautiful and when the tasting begins George is generous in what he shares. He does little exercises to expand your knowledge of your palate. For us, this was the exact "wine tour" we wanted. It was why we came to napa. Its only $20 a head for a 2.5 hour tour/tasting and of course the fee is waived if you buy wine. Excellent!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nootied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    18
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We visited Hendryband it is an awesome experience. It's not commercialized and when you visit its like your getting a personal one on one tour. The wines are excellent and George is informative. A definite must see when you visit Napa.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cetex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Deserves to be #1 destination on TripAdvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We made a reservation to visit this winery after reading all of the positive reviews. We generally don't visit wineries that don't have distribution on the east coast. However, we were intrigued. George Hendry is the consummate wine guide. As the vineyard owner, he speaks from the heart and is open and frank about the challenges he and his family encountered in developing their wines. We left this tour with more knowledge about producing wine than we had learned anyplace else.

The wine tasting included 11 wines with side-by-side tasting to explore the subtle differences in same types of wine made with different techniques or aged differently. This wine tasting takes 2.5 hours and is worth every minute.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank happytraveler1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is your 1st stop in Napa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This is my 2nd trip to Napa and I've visited 8 wineries. I wish I had visited Hendry's first. We were honored to have George Hendry as our guide and he is the best! Hendry's has a great story as a family vineyard, and George is a true treasure. His knowledge and straight shooting about the business are unparalleled. We were there over 2 1/2 hours. Where others appear to want to get you "in and out" George took his time explaining and answering our questions until there were no more. The wine tasting portion is at the top of the list too. You taste 11 different wines and George takes you through food pairings and why they work and don't work with certain wines (there is no actual food to taste just his explanations). Start here and then you will have a true measure of the other wineries and their tours. My bet is none will rise to the same level as Hendry's!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank echaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great Tour. George was great and we had a wonderful tour and drank more wine than one should. That is what is expected of a wine tour and it was met.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hendry Ranch Wines also viewed

 

Been to Hendry Ranch Wines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing