We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Spinach Ravioli in Lemon Cream!”

Bistro Don Giovanni
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Don Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 317 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 29
Reviewed 16 October 2017

My husband and I first shared the Beet and Haricots Verts salad with avocado, fennel and Roquefort vinaigrette which was a wonderful combination of flavors and very delicious. I then went on to order the Spinach Ravioli with pecorino, ricotta and lemon cream sauce. It was decadently rich with a subtle combination of flavors; but I could not finish the ample sized portion so I requested a doggie bag and enjoyed the rest the next day for lunch. The service was impeccable, ambience very warm and comfortable -- all in all, highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 494PatriciaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 270 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

After a lovely day of winery visits we decided to seek out an Italian restaurant for dinner. This was a wonderful choice! Our waiter was very pleasant and efficient. The menu was extensive making it hard to decide! We ordered the Braised lamb shank and the gnocchetti with lamb ragu. Both were excellent! Creme Brulee provided the perfect sweet end. I would love to have this near me! Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank k4bsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Tired after a long flight and drive up from SFO figured easiest dinner choice was to walk down to Don Giovanni from next door hotel!

Had reservation for 7:00pm but that apparently meant nothing to staff - ended up waiting 30 minutes before finally being seated. The restaurant was packed, and it looked like the staff could barely handle it. Took some time to get drinks, appetizers, and meal. We had Fritto Misto, salads, Rigatoni con Polpette, and the Pollo alla Diavolo. All was good, but not exceptional. The Pollo was over-cooked and salted, but otherwise nicely crisp.

I think Bistro Don Giovanni is a watering hole for locals who are catered to by the staff (therefore all the glowing service reviews). The food is really just average and not worth the price.

If you’re just looking for drinks and appetizers, don’t mind waiting, and like a crowded atmosphere, then DG is not a bad choice, especially considering they’re conveniently located and have ample parking. But for fine dining forget it, just drive up the road a bit and you’ll find way better food and service!

[visited in September]

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SpanishTroubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Bisto Don Giovanni is a very popular Italian resultant in Napa, CA. On the night we were there, it was very crowed and noisy. Seating was at a premium and service was average. Not enough wait staff to handle the size of the crowd. The Caesar Salad was phenomenal, vey fresh. As to the pasta dish, mama's meatballs with rigatoni, the sauce was average at best. Very little flavor

If you desire to go to this restaurant, reservations are a must.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kruezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

First of all, we loved the decor from our semi-outdoor glassed in room. I ordered a glass of Schramsburg Brut Rosé, and what a great choice that was. I had Petrale Sole with spinach, for a near perfect dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank MM3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing