We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Get Away Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carneros Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carneros Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Get Away Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed this hotel as part of our honeymoom trip in Napa. This is a cottage style, so our bedroom is facing to a tiny yard (or patio). I saw people make comments about the yard was very small, which is ture. But you do get your privacy. The bedroom and the bathroom seems to be the similar size. I do hope the room is a little bigger. Since the fireplace, bed, and the desk are squeezed into one room, the bathroom seems to be bigger than it needs to be.

They have heated floor in the bathroom. Even in August, it is still nice to have in the early morning. The bed is very comfortable and clean. And the surrouding environment is very romantic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    197
    90
    43
    26
See reviews for
142
858
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were at this property in July for two nights & absolutely loved it! It was a very different style than what I've stayed in. Adorable cottages with front poches & rocking chairs with courtyards that had recycled fountains & beautiful flowers everywhere. We had a Premier Garden Cottage which was extremely spacious, gorgeous private patio with chase lounges, dining table & alfresco shower. Lot's of flowers too here too. The bathroom had heated, slate floors & was huge. A large soaking tub & seperate shower. There was also a fireplace & sitting area in the cottage.
The property is beautiful....so much so that we spent one entire day just lounging by the pool. The pool area overlooks the vineyards & distant mountains & is a fun place to relax, get pampered, & make new friends. The watermelon mojito by the pool is fantastic as was the outdoor dining.
I really enjoyed the spa services. It was hard to select just a few services as they all sounded wonderful. But I selected the 90 minutes warm goat milk massage & the sonoma goat milk body wrap. Both were fantastic! I defintely recommend the spa.
The resort had a very romantic feel to it. There was a great deal of privacy & beautiful places to sit & watch the sunset.
The service everywhere from the bellman, concierge, to waitstaff was all fantastic. We appreciated this great service very much & can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tootlepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I travelled to the Caneros Inn for our first wedding anniversary. The Caneros Inn was recommended to us by good friends. I was not impressed with the check-in process. We ended up waiting three hours for our room and when we got to it there were two double beds. I originally booked the hotel room through American Express Platinum services and did not realize I had not booked a king room so completely my mistake. We had no problems paying for the upgrade, but the front desk was not overly friendly about accommodating us. I had told the front desk staff that we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary, and there was no "happy anniversary", or we "we hope you enjoy your anniversary stay" as one would expect.

The grounds are beautiful, the hilltop pool fantastic. For those who are workout fanatics the facility is very nice, numerous Precor Treadmills, and new equipment. There were children playing on the equipment during my workout which was not ideal. The rooms are small but very well decorated. The outdoor shower is nice, and the bed is very comfortable.

The service at the restaurants was good, but not great. On our final night there we were enjoying cocktails and food outside of the Farm with friends. We asked our server to call a cab for our friends and she told us she couldn't do it, which baffles me.

Finally, my husband scheduled a Spa service for Sunday at 10:00 and they somehow "lost" or rescheduled his appointment for 11:15. He took the appointment time but we had to rush to make it to the airport.

When you spend 600+ dollars a night on a resort you expect excellent service as we both have received at various resorts all over the world. The Caneros Inn did not deliver for us. We stayed at a B&B for our first two nights in Napa for a third of the cost and received better service. Because of the grounds I feel compelled to give a very good rating, but if I were just rating on service it would be average at best.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Nicely arranged resort with kids and adult pool setups, resort guest only dining area and gated entrances. Good for the family or adults only. Extremely close proximity to Marin County and SF, then to downtown Napa and Yountville. We've normally stayed in St Helena and North in prior trips but really appreciated being south as all of our trips to the restaurants were inside of 20 minutes, and avoided all the traffic north of there with people hitting all the wineries. We liked the layout of the 2 bedroom connected units with great heated outdoor areas that included a fireplace, and hot tub. The full kitchen, living/dining room and bathrooms were all well sized and appointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I had dinner atThe Farm Restaurant a few years ago and always wanted to go back to The Inn and try it overnight. I finally did. I booked the Harvest Cottage, which was the largest room, under a suite. Boy was it small. Nowhere for two bags to be opened up and placed on a rack. I put my bag on a rack outside on the patio. No staff ever mentioned it or asked it they could help find room for it. The room was just really small. The staff overall was friendly, but not very "on it". I had to ask for more coffee each time I wanted it at the restaurant at breakfast and then wait for it more than a few minutes. Oh, and my glass of champagne I ordered at breakfast....delivered halfway through the meal. The next day the same item on the menu was served in a different way from room service. The staff at the pool was unsure whether they had the wine on the menu available, etc. etc. Not a great staff. Not a real positive attitude about customer service. Just not great. Waited to check in. Got called about someone else's spa appointments, etc. etc. And when I called the reception to check out and mentioned it was not a very good experience, no one said anything like "I am sorry - we wish you had had a better experirence" or anything like that. There was great outdoor space so maybe this is bettter for a group visit. I know this review is very differernt than many for this property, but I am a very regular business and leisure traveller and this place was just not special. The bed was very good and the sheets, duvet, etc. too.

Room Tip: if you want a room with enough space for a few suitcases try somewhere else. The only rooms with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingVLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
16.6 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
6.2 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
27.2 km away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
5.5 km away
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carneros Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carneros Resort and Spa

Property: Carneros Resort and Spa
Address: 4048 Sonoma Hwy., Napa, CA 94559-9745 (Formerly The Carneros Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#3 Spa Hotel in Napa
Price range (per night): ₹ 44,183 - ₹ 94,641
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carneros Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the beautiful Carneros winegrowing region is Carneros Resort and Spa, a luxurious Napa Valley retreat designed to make absolutely everything feel better. Carneros Resort and Spa was created to provide an intimate atmosphere of Napa Valley hospitality reminiscent of its unique surroundings. Nestled among 28 acres of seemingly endless rows of grape vines, bucolic Napa farmland and scenic apple orchards, Carneros Resort and Spa's design was based on cues from the local countryside - including barns, silos and ranchers' cottages - combined with stylish resort accommodations and modern interiors to capture the region's distinct charm as well as the needs of our sophisticated guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Carneros Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Hotel Napa
Carneros Inn
Carneros Resort And Spa Napa, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing