We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa Retreat”
Review of Blackbird Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackbird Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went with neighbors who live in a the craftsman-style house and loved this one. We chose a room with a king bed, nice patio and private garden. We enjoyed the breakfasts and wine and cheese afternoon snacks. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday so it was quiet and we also had the place to ourselves. It was as nice as staying at someone's home. We enjoy Napa in the winter because there are discounted rate on the rooms and the wineries are not too crowded. We had fabulous weather which always makes the trip nicer. We hadn't stayed in Napa for a number of years but the town is more interesting now than in the past. There are a number of new restaurants, shops and the Oxbow Market where we picked up a sandwich but there were a number of interesting food options. The inn was conveniently located and walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. We enjoyed it and will return for another stay.

Room Tip: #2 is downstairs with a king bed/ fireplace/ private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We got a great last minute deal at this location. I loved the feel of the house. I don't normally like B&Bs, but this place felt more like a ski lodge than a B&B. The breakfast was hot and good, although it is the same every morning. They do allow pets and my dog loved it. The room had a fireplace, and was quite large. The bathroom was nice and again, it was large. There was a balcony/deck off the room. I loved it. I loved the feel of it. If it had been warmer, I could have stayed the entire time on the deck. If you have a pet, there are few better places than Blackbird Inn to stay! The location is just okay- it's not very close to downtown Napa, but if you're wine tasting, you'll be driving anyway! Also, they have an afternoon wine hour- took advantage of that!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoppertoneButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A B&B that's not too frilly, not too "shabby chic", not too austere. It is just right. Made moreso by the outstanding internet special we happened upon. The room was small, but not unpleasantly so, the bathroom could use a bit of updating but was always clean and well-kept. The staff was very, very helpful in guiding us to good food, good wineries, and interesting things to do that were off the beaten path. The breakfast and afternoon hospitality were good although since we opted to use the Blackbird as our base of operations for 10 days while we toured Napa Valley, we had a lot of repetition in breakfast quiche and pastries.
Since this was our honeymoon, and my new husband's 1st B&B experience I was concerned that all would go smoothly. My concerns weren't warranted. He enjoyed the B&B so much that we've subsequently stayed in several others.

Room Tip: We had room number 6 and it was snug. We were on our honeymoon so didn't mind :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eB0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The Blackbird Inn is a beautiful craftsman-style property but unfortunately, it does not live up to the website hype. The Inn was lovely, but noisy and the breakfast was a huge disappointment. The website touted it as this wonderful meal and it was far from that. My husband refused to partake after day one. It consisted of a repurposed quiche every morning and stale english muffins and bread. The fruit was good as well as the coffee. We walked downtown each morning to get breakfast and considering that breakfast was part of the overall cost of our accommodations, I was greatly disappointed that I had to buy my breakfast each morning. Our "deluxe king" room was comfortable but the bathtub was an absolute nightmare and anyone over the age of 60 or in poor health would be hard pressed to get in and out of that horribly constructed tub! Also no magnifying mirrors in the bathroom which makes putting on make-up for anyone over the age of 40 a struggle! The Staff was very friendly and helpful, but other than that I was very disappointed with the Blackbird Inn.

Room Tip: As far away from the front door and common room as possible. With no carpeting in the property the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseA698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here for 1 night, and while the room and inn were lovely (Renee MacIntosh would have been proud), unfortunately the whole experience was marred by the fact that we left our electric toothbrush there, but it could not be found apparently when I phoned about it the next morning. It wasn't just the theft we were annoyed about, it was the inconvenience it caused. It should have been turned in by the housekeeper when being cleaned. Otherwise, food good and ambience a-plenty, loads of character, but unfortunately sited on busy intersection. The manager also thoughtfully upgraded us which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 km away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
0.4 km away
La Belle Epoque
La Belle Epoque
#14 of 22 in Napa
485 reviews
0.2 km away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
0 km away
1801 First Luxury Inn
6.2 km away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbird Inn

Address: 1755 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: ₹ 12,692 - ₹ 20,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blackbird Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in historic downtown Napa, Blackbird Inn offers the intimacy of a vintage hideaway, yet is an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. With its spacious front porch, huge stone fireplace and liberal use of fine woods, Blackbird Inn creates a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackbird Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Napa
Blackbird Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blackbird Inn Napa, CA - Napa Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing