We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more big black cars . . . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flex Wine Tours

Flex Wine Tours
Ranked #2 of 38 Transportation in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Planning your trip to wine country is very exciting, but with all the choices of where to go and what to, it's also overwhelming for most. Sit back and relax while we handle all the details for your wine country adventure. We offer custom designed curated private wine tours to both Napa and Sonoma regions exploring the "Roads Less Traveled" spots in unpretentious cool style and total comfort. Personal interactive guides and local professional Sommelier/host James interactively accompany you on your special day providing local insights. Enjoy a customized wine tasting experience and premium touring in roomy premium SUV luxury vehicles with spectacular visibility along with all the new modern conveniences and extras at your fingertips. Professional quality photography of the people, places, and landscapes included on your tour day at no extra charge. Relax with us...You're in wine country!
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No more big black cars . . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We did two days; one in Napa and one in Russian River. Dave and James (the owner) were great hosts and guides. We have done the "big black cars" before. You know the routine, "here we are, just walk up that way, I think. . .". FWT had it all planned out based on our personal preferences as a starting point. They listened to what we like to drink and what we like to see. At every stop, we were escorted to the door, and presented to the winery staff (many of whom they knew). There was a schedule, but one that was neither pressing nor inflexible. The Flex vehicles were very comfortable, and a nice, more personal twist. We just received our pictures, which captured not only us, but also the vineyards. We'll take this route again. . . .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yountville, California, United States
2 reviews
“Flex Wine Tours is Luxury and Hospitality at its Finest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had the most spectacular day with James and Diane in their fancy Flex. The ride is amazing, luxurious and fully stocked with water, snacks, food and wine journals, and even a "palate refresher" drink for mid-day. They cater to your every whim, and leave nothing to chance. They exceeded every expectation and anticipated every need. We will recommend them to anyone looking for the perfect day or weekend in the Napa Valley ... very impressive and inspiring experience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were two couples who spent the day touring wine country with James. It was a perfect day and everything ran like clockwork. We received a detailed itinerary based on our likes and preferences , it was great to have a tour customized for us. James managed to organize the day perfectly while at the same time giving us maximum time at each stop to relax. We all learned a great deal about wine and wine-making and winery etiquette. I honestly could not find a single thing to critique, that day was flawless.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ALM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Napa - at your own pace.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We chose FWT for our one-day trip to Napa from SF based on TripAdvisor reviews. And it certainly met our expectations and then some. Days before taking the tour, James asked us which were our wine preferences, and based on the information we have him he sent us back a tour guide with suggested wineries according to our preferences (although if you choose to change wineries once on site, they will gladly accomodate). Once we made it to the Vallejo ferry terminal Dave, James's FWT partner, was waiting for us. FWT's Flex vehicles are very comfortable, unpretentious in a good way (unlike limos) and stocked with plenty of beverages and munchies for us. We visited four wineries through the tour (the average number you can cover in a day without hurrying up), and also had lunch in the nearby town of Yountville which features lots of choice places to eat. To close the tour we were dropped off on the terminal in time for the last ferry back to SF.

Dave turned out to be a great, gentleman driver, conversational and equally passionate about wine as we are. He also doubled duties as photographer at our several stops (photography services are included with tour). Tasting prices, of course, vary from one winery to another.

All in all, while this is definitely a great and highly personalized way to see Napa Valley, view its stunning landscape and learn about wine, I'm not sure I could recommend this tour for wine beginners, mainly because of the price (service is currently $70/hour, plus fuel charges and gratuity - expect to budget at least $500 for all day's expenses. FWT's vehicles accomodate up to 5 people so it may make sense to go as a group to lower the cost). However, FWT prides itself on taking you to many small-scale, highly rated, choice Napa wineries where the tour buses or limos never go, so that constitutes a high value of discovery for the true wine connoisseur and aficionado. For our part, we were highly pleased with the service enough to recommend it to anyone passionate about wine and planning to visit Napa.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank betobeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide2_WC, Owner at Flex Wine Tours, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Alberto, it was a pleasure being able to take good care of you and your Mother for your exclusive trip out. It was also great to be able to meet you guys along the way on your first couple of spots while on my tour as well (we like to personally meet everyone we can). We're glad you enjoyed the Flex SUV as much as everyone else does (to clarify we can accommodate up to 6 and groups of 10). I think it is important to point out that even being a country away (Costa Rica) we were still able to make the necessary arrangements properly for your particular tastes. Thank you for your thorough and well written review of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
“Fun unique tour we will do it again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Eat, drink, and be merry...that is exactly what my wife and I did on this tour! Everything was planned perfectly, including planning around a specific winery that we really wanted to visit. We were Napa wine tour first timers and James did a great job teaching us about the area, wine making, and most importantly brought us to wineries where the wine tasting experience was intimate and fun. At one winery we stood in the vineyards with the owner as he showed us were the wine we bought was being grown and gave a bit of history about the estate, it was amazing. We felt like we got a "locals only" special tour experience with all the knowledge and great places we visited. The Ford Flex is a great touring vehicle which is very comfortable and it doesn't feel like you are riding around in a boat or tank! We will not hesitate to do this again on our next trip to Napa.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zach F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flex Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Flex Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing