We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Napa Walking Tour

Napa Walking Tour
Ranked #43 of 122 Tours in Napa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A fun way to start your day! Before heading out wine tasting, let us introduce you to Napa, its buildings, and its people. Learn which berry was first grown in Napa, hear how the wine industry has evolved throughout the years, and see the houses where our founders lived and worked. All guides are Napa History experts with local insights on where to dine/taste wine/stay and more! Reservations not required $25 per adult, children under 16 free. 90 minute tour at 9:30 am all year except Christmas and Thanksgiving. Tour begins at Historic Napa Mill 500 Main Street, Napa.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Don't make the mistake we've made over the years by just driving through the city of Napa on your way to the wine country. This tour made the stop very worthwhile. George is knowledgeable and entertaining and the 3.5 hour tour goes by quickly. Very much worth the time and money!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dk2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

3 very entertaining hours filled with history and fun. George is incredibly knowledgable about the region and is a great source for recommendations of restaurants, etc. He sets a fun tone but we also had a nice group. Beer and wine tastings were very fun and also allowed for a bathroom break. The tour is definitely 3 hrs so you should be dressed comfortably. It was a great start to my visit in Napa. I highly recommend this...it's worth the time and money.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisR38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tour to take if you have a half day to fill.”
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We drove over to Napa from Sonoma and had half a day to kill before our room would be ready, so we booked a tour with George to fill the time. It was one of the best decisions we made, George is really entertaining and knowlegdeable! If you have half a day or need a break from the wineries this is a great tour to take.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this tour... it will be the highlight of your visit!”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

While we thouroughly enjoyed all the wonderful restaurants and vineyard visits, the Walking Tour with George was the highlight of our trip. He showed us architecture and shared interesting stories about Napa history, all while being extremely entertaining. He also spent extra time with us at the end sharing his favorite restaurants and helped us plan a day trip over to Sonoma. If you are afraid this will be boring, I promise George will make it fun and you will find yourselves quoting him for the rest of the trip!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank leslielud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you only choose one thing to do in the Napa Valley, be sure to walk with George.”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

In 25 years of Cruise the Creek events for the Cruisers of Walnut Creek, our tour through Old Town Napa with its history and highlights has been rated as the best. Since we usually pass by Napa headed to wineries or for bicycling on the Silverado Trail, many of us haven't spent time in downtown Napa recently. What a delightful surprise! The pace is good for all ages, and George's clear speaking voice and sense of humor were spot on. As soon as our tour finished we began planning the next for George's walk through Sonoma. This is the second tour George has led for different groups of friends. It won't be the last. And yes, there is plenty of time left for wine tasting.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallysez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Napa Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to Napa Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing