We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in a lovely town”
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We found the hotel staff very helpful and friendly during our stay. The room was clean and with a comfortable, large bed. The bathroom was spacious and all was tastefully decorated. The owner is also very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast. This hotel represents good value and would be a good choice.

There are some good restaurants in Murphys and we ate well at the one ajoining the Victoria Inn.
We were only able to stay one day in the town - we would recommend 2 days at least.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha U, Public Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Thank you for the nice comments, we do strive to provide a great experience every time. Hope you see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 139 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Victoria Inn in Murphys last week and I have to say we were all extremely satisfied with our experience! The staff was more than helpful and accommodating in fact the owners were happy to talk to us every day and ask how our stay was going. The added cooking class and wine tasting was a wonderful bonus. The chef did a great job (in a tiny kitchen) showing our class the ways he prepares food and tasting it was a great way to end it. We can't wait to go back and do it all over again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thamm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We absolutely love staying here. Rooms are always clean and well decorated with vintage charm. We have stayed in many of the rooms over the years. Our favorite is the Eucalyptus room, in the back by the garden. Also like the Fireside Room, although it can be a little noisy until 9 pm when the restaurant closes. That doesn't really bother us. Has a wonderful balcony overlooking the area. Nice fireplace with presto logs to burn, in bedroom is a claw foot tub next to the fireplace. Wonderfully relaxing. Also large shower in bath. Mornings there is a wonderful selection of pastries, bagels, oatmeal, granola, yogurt, salmon and cream cheese, teas, juice and fruit. Always a couple of canisters in the upper hall with cookies and brownies. The staff is great and always helpful. The cleaning staff is all friendly and great if you need anything just ask and they will do their best to serve you. The V restaurant and Bistro is just downstairs. They feature wonderfully fresh local fare and wines. The town is just outside where you can walk to shops, wine tasting and the town has a charming park complete with gazebo and creek. Beautiful town and surrounding area. Big trees is just up the highway and there is so much to do in the area. Hiking, caverns to explore, water sports, wine tasting and so much more. The Victoria Inn is the perfect location to stay to enjoy the entire area. And you won't find friendlier or more helpful staff. Have never had a bad experience or bad room here in at least 5 years of visiting. We have stayed in just about every area. And they are so charming it is hard to pick one. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldrushgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you like good food, wine, and nature you will be happy. Family friendly, friends friendly, and couples friendly. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardellaCardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Inn for two nights and can't wait to go back! The whole property is extremely charming and the staff is great. After talking with the lady at the front desk who checked us in, she upgraded us to one of their nicest rooms for the second night at no extra charge. We initially stayed in Opi's Cabin which was great, but the second night we got to stay in their eucalyptus room which was simply amazing. The room is very elegant and romantic - we didn't even want to leave our room bc it was so nice! There is a huge jacuzzi tub, wet bar, sitting area, fireplace, and also a sound system with a few cd's. The hotel is also right downtown and close walking distance to over 20 wineries, restaurants, and shops. Breakfast was also good. I would recommend the Victoria to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in the eucalyptus room if you can!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.8 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
10.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
21.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
11.0 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
224 reviews
21.0 km away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Address: 402 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9695 (Formerly Rebud Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range: ₹ 8,395 - ₹ 25,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victoria Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay with us at Victoria Inn in Murphys, in the heart of Calaveras in California, you can explore Yosemite National Park or Bear Valley Ski Area. If you prefer, stay local and stroll Main Street, enjoying the unique shops and restaurants. The area surrounding Murphys is the best rival to Napa Valley and noted for our vineyards and wineries. Whatever you choose to do, your day will end in a beautiful room in an elegant and comfortable home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing