We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but - -” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, but - -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Well done for a recently-built place. Less expensive ($150) rooms have just enough room to squeak around in. Many good restaurants (one attached) nearby. The "but" is this: advertised as a B & B; it is not. It is a hotel w/ continental breakfast - about the same as for most modern hotels. So, as a B & B, I give it zero stars. As a pleasant hotel, I give it 3 stars only, again, 'cause the rooms are smaller than we usually get in a standard motel. Noise level is about the same as in modern hotels, but voices carried more loudly room to room. The ambiance is the draw here. Even rooms w/ big beds were on the small side. Our room did have a nice little deck, but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Plan that your room is just a place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmates07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    46
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
117
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We have stayed at the Victoria Inn 5 times now. Each and every time we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the town of Murphys. The rooms are comfy and very clean with great attention to detail. The staff is polite and friendly. The breakfast is super...coffee is hot, and pastries are fresh and delicious. Thank you, Victoria Inn, for a great holiday!

Room Tip: The Anniversary Suite is the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We had saved up to spend my birthday weekend in Murphy's at the Victoria Inn thinking it was going to be a wonderful and relaxing weekend. It was anything but! The room was lovely and very clean that was the only plus. We were in room #5 which is above the "V" resturant and it was so noisy that . Grant it it was Friday and Saturday night, but the walls must be paper thin, because it sounded like a party going off in our room. The noise wasn't just limited to the bar/resturant, it was also coming from inside the Inn. There was a group of people that rented room that were having a party of their own. Lots of loud laughing and talking going on and at times it sounded like a herd of buffalo coming through. Now you probably think I'm being meladramtic, but I'm not. In fact, I'm not the type of person that likes to complain. I mentioned the loudiness to the receptionist at the desk in the morning, but she really wasn't sympathetic about it at all. No real genuine, "I'm sorry". More oh, that's too bad. I will never stay there again. Maybe, it's better on week days, but if you plan on spending a Friday or Saturday, think twice. You don't want to spend the half the night sitting up in a chair like I did. Very dissapointing!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

When we arrived without a reservation we were asked to go up and pick the room we liked best. Since we traveled in januari most rooms were empty so we had a change to see most rooms. They are all very beatifull done and it´s clear why one is more expencive then the other. The bathrooms are ok but in need for an update to make them fit with the beatiful decorated rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Immaculately clean and well appointed B&B with extreme attention to detail, the Victoria Inn is a gem in the center of the lovely Murphys. Sunday breakfast was superb, and the staff and owner were helpful, delightful and interesting.
We will definitely be staying here the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.8 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
21.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 km away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 402 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9695 (Formerly Rebud Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,446 - ₹ 25,206
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay with us at Victoria Inn in Murphys, in the heart of Calaveras in California, you can explore Yosemite National Park or Bear Valley Ski Area. If you prefer, stay local and stroll Main Street, enjoying the unique shops and restaurants. The area surrounding Murphys is the best rival to Napa Valley and noted for our vineyards and wineries. Whatever you choose to do, your day will end in a beautiful room in an elegant and comfortable home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing