We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place To Stay When In Murphy’s Or Going To Ironstone Winery”
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphys Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2008

I have been staying here off & on through the summer working at ironstone winery on business & there is nothing wrong with this hotel, The location is within walking distance of down town, A super market is right behind it and there is a great pizza place called Pizza Plus witch dose not suck, Rooms are clean shower works fine and there is Free Wi-Fi the only complaint I would have is the beds are a little hard but I have had worse for more money.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kirkmil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2008

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about staying there, but I was pleasantly suprised. Is it a Marriott resort? No, but it is clean, comfortable, and close to downtown Murphys, which is a great old gold rush town. We only stayed there overnight, but it was a great home base for a number of business/pleasure trips to local wineries and other local businesses. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, quiet place to stay for a few days while exploring that part of the world. Also, they have free internet in the lobby which was good for checking e-mail while we were away.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rudymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Spent 1 night for family get together in the area
Pros-
-Close to downtown- at the end of the main street, you can wak to shops, restaurants, wineries...
-Not immaculate but tidy/ clean
-Good shower pressure, tub seemed newer.

Cons-
-Older motel that needs redecorating, sheets thin, old, stained comforter is pretty gross and we threw that off right away. Pillows thin, too soft.
-Pool was cold, not sure if it was even heated, lots of shade trees so you stayed in the shade, you need to check out towels ar front desk than return them. Pool furniture was stained, cracked, the table wa sticky, they should at least clean that.
-Room walls are thin, you could hear your neighbors above, next door...
-Beds were too soft, our backs hurt in the morning
-No fridge or microwave in room
-Small room

This a 2 star motel so don't expect the Ritz or Four Seasons. The room was $123 a night so I thought it was too overpriced for the condition of the room. I have paid less for really nice hotel rooms and service, but MIL paid so I shouldnt complain. Maybe next year we'll try the Murphy suites.
-

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huladolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Worst motel/hotel experience EVER! We walked into the room and immediately were hit with a horrible odor--a sour, musty smell. And the room was HOT! We immediately turned on the "air conditioner" which was totally inadequate. No remote control for the TV, only enough hot water for one of us to shower, and the bed was hard. What a dump!!!

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank MyrnaLoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Murphys Inn is a great location for exploring the wine tasting opportunities in Murphys. The inn is within a five minute walking distance from downtown Murphys, and that allows you to enjoy wine tasting, without worrying about driving back down to Angels Camp. The inn was very clean, with comfortable beds and spacious rooms. The price was also reasonable, considering I stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend. I would not only highly recommend this location, but I am planning on staying at the Murphys Inn again on my next visit to Murphys. I also recommend the diner next door for their breakfast; the service, food quality and price can't be beat!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mfricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.4 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
20.7 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
414 reviews
17.6 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
11.3 km away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Address: 76 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range: ₹ 6,646 - ₹ 11,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphys Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing