We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than presented.”
Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunbar House, 1880
Ranked #3 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This was our first time at the Dunbar House. The house is nice and comfortable. VERY quiet and slightly off the main drag with private parking. We stayed in the Ponderosa Room. It was quiet and well-appointed. I would say the only thing missing from the room was the coffee creamer. The bed was very comfortable and the AC worked well. We had a pleasant night's rest. I would give the house and room a 5 star rating, but they missed the mark at breakfast. Seriously lacking. It is advertised as a gourmet breakfast typical of B&Bs. This is a huge reason for us staying in B&Bs. They have an on-site chef but all he did was eggs to order and French toast. No meat, potatoes, toast. The remainder of breakfast was a serve-yourself breakfast bar typical of motel 6. That was a HUGE disappointment. Not sure the price difference equals the store bought Danish that was put out.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dammielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Dunbar House, 1880
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2016

Very sweet old historical home. Walking distance to downtown. The rooms are very comfortable. The owners are on site and address anything you would need. Kind people. Plenty of parking and not costing you a dime.....:)

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taraza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a five star review! It is always nice to hear that our guests appreciate the little details that we make available for our guests to enhance their stay with us. We are so glad that you found the room comfortable, which we are happy to hear led to a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We appreciate you joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We have had the opportunity to stay here twice and both times it was splendid. The house reflected the era when the Inn was built but had all the modern amenities and then some. The best of both worlds. The beds were most comfortable so that you wanted to spend the day there but you didn't want to miss the scrumptious breakfast. The owners, Arline and Rich, couldn't have been more hospitable in making sure your stay was pleasurable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for visiting us again at Dunbar House, 1880! We’re overjoyed to hear you enjoyed your stay, and it is truly a delight to know your second visit was just as memorable as your first. The best compliment that we can receive is when our guests return, and we have an opportunity to share our home with them once again. We are looking forward to visit #3!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Wow! OK, you've already read the other reviews. We agree this place is gorgeous. We also found the stay superb! The modernization of such an old property has been done so tastefully it still fits with the era but yet lacks for no modern convenience. But that statement does not do justice. The attention to detail with regard to what visitors might want or need is literally beyond the pale! At the risk of perhaps boring you I made a list - and I'm sure I missed some! Here we go, in a limited description format and a little disjointed:
Kuerig in room
Corkscrew etc
DVDs
Bag for used soap of like me you take it to the next stop
Games
Reserved patio for rooms
Beautiful Gardens
Mouthwash but presented beautifully in nice flask
Waters in fridge replenished every day
Wine glasses etc
Kindle for personal use
USB power points
Cookies in room each day - definitely upmarket
Games everywhere
Music CDs in trinket box for romantic evening
Bert's Bees Herbal scented bug spray
Very fine Dressing gowns and slippers
Clip on LED book reading light so you don't disturb your partner
Knee pad for laptop
Chalk board for leaving messages for innkeeper.
Help yourself sherry and port for pre or post dinner.
Breakfast - be ready for the unusual but definitely very palatable Presentation superb, table would make my English mother proud. Staff super, Arline absolutely delightful. I am sure we will be back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank badger1_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you so much for your generous review! We like to think of each guest as an addition to the Dunbar House family, and we’re thrilled to know you felt right at home during your time with us. We feel it’s the extra details which count at our B&B. I had to smile when I read that my table would make your English Mother proud...thanks for putting a smile on my face! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great house of history and beauty! Staff and owners are nice, breakfast great! Room great! Hope you stay here! It's walking distance to many great eats, try the V restaurant for the best food ever. Their lamb dish was amazing, great sushi around the corner as well.

Room Tip: we stayed at the ponderosa room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

It was such a pleasure to have you and your wife here at Dunbar House! I, along with my husband, and my staff, were in awe of watching you breathe life into our antique Wilcox & White Pump Organ. Everyone so enjoyed listening to you play and sing, it was truly a magical moment in time, and I thank you so very much! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.6 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
10.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
21.0 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
224 reviews
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
0.4 km away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range: ₹ 12,916 - ₹ 17,849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing