We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Murphys Inn Motel(Murphys)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria Inn(Murphys)(Great Value!)
US$ 170
US$ 151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murphys Suites(Murphys)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CourtWood Inn(Murphys)
US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumping Frog Motel(Angels Camp)
US$ 122
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Cedar Inn & Suites(Angels Camp)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge by Wyndham Angels Camp CA(Angels Camp)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 258
US$ 238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 115
US$ 99
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
85
14
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
14
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssequoia roomcookiessugar pieliving roommain stfrench toastget awaywatching the worldnight's restquiet locationwill stay there againb bsgold countryother guestseggs benedictgas fireplacefresh coffee and juice
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great house of history and beauty! Staff and owners are nice, breakfast great! Room great! Hope you stay here! It's walking distance to many great eats, try the V restaurant for the best food ever. Their lamb dish was amazing, great sushi around the corner as well.

Room Tip: we stayed at the ponderosa room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House 1880 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

It was such a pleasure to have you and your wife here at Dunbar House! I, along with my husband, and my staff, were in awe of watching you breathe life into our antique Wilcox & White Pump Organ. Everyone so enjoyed listening to you play and sing, it was truly a magical moment in time, and I thank you so very much! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here, Arlene made sure we were very comfortable and had everything we needed in the room,in fact there were so many things in the room ,she had thought of everything.The garden was outstanding ,a lot of work keeping it like that , so pretty. Breakfast was very good, funny combinations though ! Everything was just a little bit too fussy for my liking , but that is the style of the house and they have done a good job.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House 1880 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Nothing pleases us more than to have guests stay with us and share our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Most relaxing vacation in a long time. Rich and Arline were the most personable host ever.Their willingness to mingle with the guest made the stay even more enjoyable. By the way breakfast was absolutely amazing. Thanks and wife and I look forward to our return visit in the near future.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House 1880 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Every Guest is a Valued Guest, and we were delighted that you chose to stay with us. What makes being an innkeeper so special is that we get to meet and visit with some pretty amazing guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we attended the January 2016 "Seeing the Elephants" weekend at the Performing Animals Welfare Association in San Andreas. Innkeepers Arline and Rich are extremely personable and have covered every detail that creates a wonderful stay! Of course, the rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfasts were as good as they come -- served hot on a beautifully set table. We stayed downstairs in the charming Cedar room which had a lovely sitting-area extension facing the garden. Each night, we found two fresh-baked cookies on the table in the sitting room! The room also had a Keurig with an assortment of pods. The lights over the bed were perfect for reading and the gas stove provided just the right amount of heat. The bed had a great mattress and plenty of soft linens. The bathroom was stocked with everything one could want, had great water pressure in the shower and there was even a warming bar for additional bath towels. The Dunbar's living room is cozy and stocked with DVDs, and Rich had a warm fire going when we arrived on Friday night. The location is one block from the wine tasting rooms, shops, restaurants (no chains!) and even the award-winning Lila and Sage Cupcakes in Murphys, so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Thanks again, Arline and Rich for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SophieBlue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House 1880 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely words - it is so great to hear that our staff is doing a good job in meeting the expectations of our guests, and attending to the details that make staying here at Dunbar House more enjoyable. It’s comments like yours that keep us doing what we love to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

There is not an amenity missing at the Dunbar house. So many comfortable details to appreciate. We stayed in the Sequoia Room. The bed was dreamy and the room was beautifully situated. The nice touch of fresh baked goods, in-room coffee, a kindle, a throw blanket, robes ... make it feel like home. We sat on the porch and laid in the hammock. The hosts are so kind. The breakfast is fresh and very tasty but so, so small. We were still quite hungery. This was our only complaint.
The location of the house is perfect for walking Main Street in Murphy's yet tucked back in a quiet corner. We also saw a concert at Ironstone Vineyards. We will absolutely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House 1880 Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2015

Sequoia is one of my favorites, and I'm so glad that you got to enjoy all the comforts of that room.

I take pride in the breakfasts that are served to my guests, and I never like anyone to leave the table hungry. The next time that you come to stay with us, I will make sure that you get a heartier breakfast.

I'll be happy to welcome you back here to Dunbar House, where your comfort and relaxation is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews