We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 75th birthday weekend”
Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunbar House, 1880
Ranked #3 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Wow! OK, you've already read the other reviews. We agree this place is gorgeous. We also found the stay superb! The modernization of such an old property has been done so tastefully it still fits with the era but yet lacks for no modern convenience. But that statement does not do justice. The attention to detail with regard to what visitors might want or need is literally beyond the pale! At the risk of perhaps boring you I made a list - and I'm sure I missed some! Here we go, in a limited description format and a little disjointed:
Kuerig in room
Corkscrew etc
DVDs
Bag for used soap of like me you take it to the next stop
Games
Reserved patio for rooms
Beautiful Gardens
Mouthwash but presented beautifully in nice flask
Waters in fridge replenished every day
Wine glasses etc
Kindle for personal use
USB power points
Cookies in room each day - definitely upmarket
Games everywhere
Music CDs in trinket box for romantic evening
Bert's Bees Herbal scented bug spray
Very fine Dressing gowns and slippers
Clip on LED book reading light so you don't disturb your partner
Knee pad for laptop
Chalk board for leaving messages for innkeeper.
Help yourself sherry and port for pre or post dinner.
Breakfast - be ready for the unusual but definitely very palatable Presentation superb, table would make my English mother proud. Staff super, Arline absolutely delightful. I am sure we will be back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank badger1_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you so much for your generous review! We like to think of each guest as an addition to the Dunbar House family, and we’re thrilled to know you felt right at home during your time with us. We feel it’s the extra details which count at our B&B. I had to smile when I read that my table would make your English Mother proud...thanks for putting a smile on my face! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Dunbar House, 1880
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great house of history and beauty! Staff and owners are nice, breakfast great! Room great! Hope you stay here! It's walking distance to many great eats, try the V restaurant for the best food ever. Their lamb dish was amazing, great sushi around the corner as well.

Room Tip: we stayed at the ponderosa room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmjmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

It was such a pleasure to have you and your wife here at Dunbar House! I, along with my husband, and my staff, were in awe of watching you breathe life into our antique Wilcox & White Pump Organ. Everyone so enjoyed listening to you play and sing, it was truly a magical moment in time, and I thank you so very much! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here, Arlene made sure we were very comfortable and had everything we needed in the room,in fact there were so many things in the room ,she had thought of everything.The garden was outstanding ,a lot of work keeping it like that , so pretty. Breakfast was very good, funny combinations though ! Everything was just a little bit too fussy for my liking , but that is the style of the house and they have done a good job.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Nothing pleases us more than to have guests stay with us and share our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Most relaxing vacation in a long time. Rich and Arline were the most personable host ever.Their willingness to mingle with the guest made the stay even more enjoyable. By the way breakfast was absolutely amazing. Thanks and wife and I look forward to our return visit in the near future.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Every Guest is a Valued Guest, and we were delighted that you chose to stay with us. What makes being an innkeeper so special is that we get to meet and visit with some pretty amazing guests. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when we attended the January 2016 "Seeing the Elephants" weekend at the Performing Animals Welfare Association in San Andreas. Innkeepers Arline and Rich are extremely personable and have covered every detail that creates a wonderful stay! Of course, the rooms are immaculately clean. The breakfasts were as good as they come -- served hot on a beautifully set table. We stayed downstairs in the charming Cedar room which had a lovely sitting-area extension facing the garden. Each night, we found two fresh-baked cookies on the table in the sitting room! The room also had a Keurig with an assortment of pods. The lights over the bed were perfect for reading and the gas stove provided just the right amount of heat. The bed had a great mattress and plenty of soft linens. The bathroom was stocked with everything one could want, had great water pressure in the shower and there was even a warming bar for additional bath towels. The Dunbar's living room is cozy and stocked with DVDs, and Rich had a warm fire going when we arrived on Friday night. The location is one block from the wine tasting rooms, shops, restaurants (no chains!) and even the award-winning Lila and Sage Cupcakes in Murphys, so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Thanks again, Arline and Rich for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SophieBlue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunbarHouse, Owner at Dunbar House, 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely words - it is so great to hear that our staff is doing a good job in meeting the expectations of our guests, and attending to the details that make staying here at Dunbar House more enjoyable. It’s comments like yours that keep us doing what we love to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.6 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
10.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
21.0 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
223 reviews
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
18.7 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range: ₹ 12,784 - ₹ 17,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing