We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fine Foothills B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunbar House, 1880

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunbar House, 1880
Ranked #3 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“A Fine Foothills B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2007

Murphy's is a little town in the Sierra Foothills that is perfect for a weekend getaway. The Calavaras redwoods are just up the road, with nice little towns for shopping along the way. Further up the road is a ski area. There are many foothill wineries around Murphys, including the beautiful Ironstone property. The one road town has a number of little restaurants and shops.

We had always made day trips to Murphys, in large part because we would make a last minute decision and everything in the little town was booked. This time we planned ahead and booked into the Dunbar House. We were not disappointed.

The B & B is an old, restored lumber/mining baron home that sits on a side street just off the main drag. The grounds are beautiful and nicely manicured with flowers, arbors, lawn chairs, and a hammock or two. The bird feeders attract many birds. The house itself is shaded by large trees.

We had an upstairs room with a small balcony overlooking the street. The room was nicely furnished and very clean; someone put a lot of time and attention into it and it showed. Ditto for the large bath and shower. Breakfast was delivered to the room and we ate on our balcony. The downstairs area was filled with antiques, and there was always some kind of food (cookies) or drink (tea, wine) available. The staff were friendly and attentive.

All in all, this was one of the nicer B & B's at which we have stayed. We plan to stay there again the next time we are in the mood to go up the hill. The only negative -- and this is a small one -- is that the main drag through town can be a parking lot on weekends and when the motorcycle riders come through town it can be noisy. This is an inherent issue with all of the Foothill towns and those of us who visit there just have to deal with it.

I should also add that even though most of the rooms in the house were filled, it was pretty quiet.

  • Liked — The attention to detail by the owners and staff.
  • Disliked — Street noise.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Dunbar House. We commend the inn keepers for their tremendous attention to detail. Within our room, I enjoyed the numerous and varied selection of magazines, all the interesting pieces of decor in the room, the soap in the hot tob bath and even the sponge. The daily snacks are interesting as well - cheese, crackers, pickled vegetables, fruit with an interesting spread, and wine that all vary daily. The breakfasts were tasty and among the most unique configurations I've had such as grilled avocado with salsa, an egg soufle, fresh fruit and cream - in a beautiful garden setting with quite a setting of tablewear. There is a nice selection of high quality teas as well. In the common areas, I was able to enjoy more magazines, a wide selection of books, and a puzzle! The Inn is very centrally located in the Murphys downtown area. If you're looking for a wonderful dining experience, we recommend the restaurant "Mineral" - we went two nights in a row for quite exquisite food - that happens to be vegetarian.

  • Liked — Attention to detail, good location, garden setting
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_HPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

My wife and stayed here 4 times so far. It has 5 rooms and each room is so quaint. Upon arrival in your room you get a small tray of cheese,crackers and fruit and a bottle of chilled white wine. The breakfast is to die for, and the sherry with the homemade chocolate chip cookies are yummy in the evening. The english garden is so relaxing to sit out in. The Dunbar House is within walking distance to all the shops and wine tasting rooms on main st. plus some very good dining spots. We will be back !

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaLosthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2006

It's somewhat difficult to write a review of the Dunbar House. Everything was quite nice, but it's not up there with top inns I've ever stayed. Not because of anything that was bad, it just didn't jump out and say "wow". Owners were not present when we arrived (3 p.m)and door was locked. They arrived about 3:20 p.m. We spent that time talking with the other couple waiting to check in. We aren't impressed with over-the-top decor (foo-foo) and Dunbar House approaches our limits. Don't get me wrong...they have many beautiful things in this inn, but I personally like to have a clear space to put my belongings. It makes it a challenge on check-out to make sure that you've collected all your stuff. It's a bit hard to find your stuff! I'll attach photos so you can take a look yourself. I'm sure this is just the style for some. The bed was comfortable and it was a good night's rest. Breakfast the next morning was quite good, again, not the best I've ever had, but completely satisfying. The location of this inn can't be beat. We easily walked to the cute little town of Murphys, it's just down the street. We had a nice dinner and strolled back to the inn.

  • Liked — Proximity to town
  • Disliked — Extensive, somewhat over-the-top Victorian style decor
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.6 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
10.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
18.7 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 km away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunbar House, 1880? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunbar House, 1880

Property: Dunbar House, 1880
Address: 271 Jones St, Murphys, CA 95247
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,864 - ₹ 17,776
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA 4 diamond B&B has 5 cozy Victorian King or Queen guest rooms with private bath/showers. Cedar & Sequoia each have a 2 person Jacuzzi, and in-room or private patio dining. Each room has a Norwegian gas burning stove, Direct TV, flat screen TV with an available DVD collection, personal amenities, and a private refrigerator provisioned with bottled water & beer, appetizer plate and a complimentary bottle of local wine. Fresh baked cookies daily. Enjoy our full country breakfast in our charming dining room or in our beautiful gardens. Plan your romantic getaway today! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing