We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Representative of the worst of British Inns”
Review of The Pelican Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muir Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pelican Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Muir Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We've traveled around Scotland, England and Wales extensively and this inn does not measure up. I can only think of one inn that compares, one in Salibury that was built in 1600 and appeared to have it's latest refurb in 1800.

If this were an $80 a night hotel, perhaps it is acceptable, but the rooms go for over $250.

Let' start with the positives: Staff was friendly and the complementary breakfast was good.

Rooms are not well-arranged. Our double bed was up against a wall and 3 ft high so that a stool was needed to climb into it. Additionally the person on the wall end had to get out at the end of the bed.

Rooms need refurbishing and cleaning. The outlets are old and few and the plugs fall out of them. Additionally the lighting is such that reading at night is impossible unless you have a Kindle. Furthermore, the bedspread and carpets are very old and dirty though I was happy to discover the sheets were new and clean.
Mold was growing in the bathrooms and cobwebs were everywhere.

General ambience was poor. Evenings were noisy and only quiet after the pub closed. People on the lawn drinking and socializing made sleeping near impossible until midnight.

Extras were mediocre: Soaps, shampoos, toilet paper and tissues were the poorest quality and the towels were thin.

Dinner at the restaurant was over-priced and at best edible.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel--
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mollymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016

My partner and I walked at Muir Woods and then went to Muir beach. My partner said she always wanted to go to the Pelican Inn so we went for lunch. The atmosphere was great. We sat outside in the enclosed area and had nice pub sandwiches on very delicious bread. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I would recommend it for lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This is a great place right near Muir Beach. It is romantic and such a different atmosphere than just a typical hotel or inn. The inn is just a two minute walk from the beach and 7 min walk to the zen garden. Over- all it was a great stay but in many places it looks like it could use a bit or fixing up or repair like holes in seat cushions in the dining room. When you are paying $50 up per person to eat I do not expect to see dingy seat cushions with holes. Do not expect to get a lot of sleep here as the staff played their radio music loudly until 11pm and then started again at 6:30am. The on line check in was super fast and easy but when we got there actually checking in seemed complicated and we felt unwelcome as we were made to sit on the porch for 15 min to wait until they would unlock the door and let us into the building. We arrived at 3:45 pm but apparently the doors do not open until 4pm so make sure you note that when arriving.
The highlight was the area called the snug which is a private library with a fireplace for overnight guests to use.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mirnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Loved the range of food - salads, banger and mash, cheese plate....great wines...ones I haven't had and didn't know about...stop here...you will love it and it wasn't super crowded either. You can have a picnic on the grounds; just bring a blanket and you'll love being outside.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the hotel; only ate at the Pelican Inn. These review choices should indicate t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 90,042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

A quaint inn and pub fashioned after a historic English inn. The downside was that the door frames are low (watch your head!) the rooms a but musty and the atmosphere was dark. The upside were all of the historic decorating touches in all of the spaces. The location was perfect for our trek into Muir Woods the following day. The staff was friendly and efficient.

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muir Beach
5.7 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
8.3 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
8.9 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
10.4 km away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
10.5 km away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelican Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelican Inn

Address: 10 Pacific Way, Muir Beach, CA 94965-9729
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Muir Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muir Beach
Price Range: ₹ 12,420 - ₹ 17,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Muir Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing