We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise inside!”
Review of El Paso Cafe

El Paso Cafe
Ranked #160 of 363 Restaurants in Mountain View
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is a little neighborhood restaurant. Nothing fancy. The margaritas, food (especially the pork burrito which the cook had made fresh and service were outstanding. Friendly, caring people work here.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank miluna2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2016

It is really hard to find cheap burritos and traditional mexican food dishes in MV of a high quality. This place fits the bill. has a great happy hour also.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

My family and I used to praise this little hole in the wall as a hidden gem. My previous review was back in 2013 where I gave it a very high rating and expected to do so when we recently ate there for the first time in a few years. Having been practically raised on cuisine from numerous Latin American countries, I know and appreciate the essentials of things being fresh, delectable, and served promptly. We got none of these at El Paso this time around. I ordered the grande burrito which was my favorite dish there - it tasted stale and a bit cold. They still provided unlimited chips and salsa, but that's not why you come here! I hope they get their act together and improve themselves.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I call it the latter because it's practically a hole in the wall: if you drive down El Camino fast and blink, you'll miss it. Being a lover of Mexican food, I find this to be a great place to get the most for your money (a close family friend who is Hispanic highly recommends this). The service is fast and friendly, you get unlimited chips and salsa, and many of the dishes have huge proportions - a great bargain!

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank frtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Been coming here for a long time and don't understand why more people don't review this great Tex-Mex cafe. On hot nights, it's particularly popular because there are outside tables out in back where people like to eat. The restaurant is actually bigger than it looks from the outside.
Staff is very friendly and very accommodating. Nobody rushes you and you can relax and enjoy your meal. I particularly like the chicken enchilada platter with a side of salad and black beans and you always request black beans, refried beans or the regular beans.

The super burrito is great as well as their chili. Good service, good food and not hard on the pocketbook!

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goodgrief29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Paso Cafe also viewed

Mountain View, CA
Mountain View, CA
 
Mountain View, CA
 
 

Been to El Paso Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing