We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My husband had business in the area, so I tagged along for a bit of a vacation in CA. We chose this hotel because of its convenient location for where my husband needed to go. The hotel looked pretty nice in the pictures (which are accurate), and had decent reviews.

If you are looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price in the Mountain View area, this is a very good choice. The free breakfast had a nice variety of choices, the room was comfortably sized and quiet, the hot tub and pool looked clean and nice (though I didn't use them as it was a little too cold outside still), the pillows and bed were comfortable, and the staff were friendly and accommodating at all times.

No, this isn't a "luxury" hotel (referring to a previous review), but they did have luxury touches with down pillows, flat screen TVs, and a modern bathroom. I did like the effort they placed in making the hotel have a little personality (a mix of office supplies and fun games in the room, free wine in the evenings) but I would still just describe this as a nice if slightly innocuous hotel, which is exactly what I'd been looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank askmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 521 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Overall: This was fine. The lobby didn’t wow me, but that might have been because of the hipsters draping themselves over the furniture, so that even if we’d wanted to sit for a few minutes to wait for a cab or something, we couldn’t have really done so. This wasn’t a need of ours, so it’s just an observation.

The room was nice enough – nothing amazing, as far as hotel rooms go. We expressed some concern over some noise from the central air conditioner unit, and they moved us to another room with no problem. The windows were a little thin – we could hear some road noise, but it wasn’t enough to keep us awake. The mini-fridge in our first room was not fully stocked, and there were a couple of elements missing from the bathroom amenities (like body wash), that we didn’t realize were missing, until we moved rooms.

Speaking of the bathroom – it had a rainfall showerhead, and good water pressure. And I love that the amenities are in biodegradable bottles. The lightbulbs in the bathroom are CFCs, so they took a minute to fully warm up, but once they did, I felt like there was plenty of light.

There were some really nice touches, especially for business travelers. The desk has a partial glass top, so you can see what goodies await you in the desk drawer. Some were for work (like tape, a stapler, post-its), and some were to balance that out (like a Rubik’s Cube, and one of those metal puzzles where you have to get a ring off the contraption). And there were plenty of outlets at the desk (3), plus 3 near bed, so keeping laptop, 2 phones and a camera plugged in was not an issue. Another nice touch was the flashlight in night table – though you hope to never need it, obviously! :)

The breakfast was great, for free! There were breads/pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, 4 cereals, eggs (though probably powdered – not that I mind), sausage, pancakes, cold cuts, fruit (sliced & whole), rice & sauces/seasonings, coffee w/ to-go cups, juices. The floor was a little sticky, but I wasn’t eating off the floor.

Overall, this was a good location, and suited our needs very well.

Room Tip: Don't know for sure, but I suspect the back side might have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel does not have a valet parking nor bellboy to carry your luggage! The hotel is very small & I can not understand how this has qualified to be hotel not an INN. Do not be fooled by the free breakfast. They have very cheap tables & chairs in a "closet" with super cheap quality food!!!! The staff was wonderful & tried to make up for all the missing elements of a real hotel. I will never go back!

Room Tip: Do not stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The staff at this hotel does everything to try to please you. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is good. I loved all the different kinds of juices. The business center is a bit small, and it can take some time to wait your turn to print something out. The hotel is an easy 15 minute drive away from downtown Palo Alto, which is a great place to get dinner. I was always able to find a place to park.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We organised to stay here specifically because the hotel was advertised as wheelchair accessible - false advertising. Only concessions made for accessibility was in the bathroom. Grab railings had been installed and the bath tub had been removed to make a large shower space. When asked for the use of a shower chair the attending staffer at first didn't realise why a person in a wheelchair would need one. The bedroom has no concessions for a wheelchair other than the door is just big enough for some wheelchairs to fit through. The entry hallway is only large enough for the chair to move one way, you cannot turn around. The room was too cramped to get any further than the bathroom before removing a lot of the furniture, and afterwards still resulted in knuckles getting scraped when rolling between the bed and tv counter. The hotel's gimmick for feeding guests' creativity by encouraging them to move around the furniture in their rooms means that all the furniture (except the bed) has wheels on it. Meaning that there is nothing stable to lean on when climbing into the bed - which was about 20 cm higher than the seat of my wheelchair.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fil0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
Hilton Garden Inn Mountain View
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
597 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#3 of 18 in Mountain View
547 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Strata
Hotel Strata
#1 of 18 in Mountain View
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
329 reviews
6.3 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,046 reviews
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mountain View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 860 E El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mountain View
#4 Family Hotel in Mountain View
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mountain View
Price Range: ₹ 7,777 - ₹ 28,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avante is a handsome oasis, ideally located in the bustling heart of Silicon Valley. Elegant in atmosphere and striking in detail, the Hotel Avante is inspired by Mid-Century stylings and contemporary urban lifestyles. Clever amenities throughout the guestrooms make them as efficient as they are comfortable. Special features throughout the hotel include our Hi-Fi Lounge, heated pool, hot tub, and courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avante Hotel Mountain View
Avante Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing