We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Expedia.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Hotels.com$86
Travelocity$86
Vio.com$87
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
2
15
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
15
15
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Lakeview Motel for one night on March 13th 2012 as part of a bird watching trip with California Target Birds. The Hotel is right across the road from a field that leads to the lake so you have a great view of the lake when you step out of your room in the morning. The entrance to the hotel is easy to miss because most people are looking at the lake. See the attached picture of the sign so you know what you are looking for.

The hotel itself is an older one-story strip motel. The rooms are dated with dark paneling, tube TV, old heating unit, and overall style. The thing to note is everything worked and was clean…we did not try the AC but the unit looked newer. This hotel has very reasonable prices and I had no problem looking over these things and feel I got what I paid for. I would recommend for a base to explore from during the day. If you will spend a lot of time at your hotel, this may not be the place for you.

The owners checked us in and were great. They live right on site and are very friendly and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our stay. Check in was painless and checkout was just handing over the key. There is a little covered sitting area outside the office that has free coffee and snacks in the morning. There are not any coffee pots in the rooms. There is free Wi-Fi that is a little slow but what’s the rush…your on vacation. There were plenty of outlets to charge our growing collection of gadgets.

More specifically we had room three, about right in the middle. There was the double/queen bed, some end tables, alarm/radio, a bench, a couple chairs and a TV. There was plenty of storage: dresser and a large shelf in the bathroom, two drawers in each night stand and a very large armoire. We could not here any street noise or other guests and we could run right across the parking area in the morning and grab a coffee. Water pressure and temp were fine.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 February 2012

No lakeview from the rooms, except one room on the highway, but the view is nice when you walk outside. The highway has a surprising amount of traffic through the night so the noise was a bit annoying, but tolerable with earplugs. The place is old and a bit run-down, but the mattress was good and the place was generally clean. The shower had some mold though. There was a separate little kitchen which would have been very convenient if we were staying longer. We would be likely to try a different motel in the area next time because of the noise and mold, but we would consider staying here again. The price seemed high for a little old motel on the highway in a remote location on a weeknight. I think we were the only customers that night so it's not like they have a lot of demand to justify the high price ($76).

Room tip: One-bed rooms are close to the noisy highway. Only family-size rooms further back.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here just for one night as a quick place to stop off on a long journey. The owner who greeted us was very friendly and very happy to recommend places to eat and other amenities nearby. We even got a small discount on arrival from our original quote. We had room 1 which gave us a view of the lake and it was beautiful. The room was quite dated with wood panels on the wall but it appeared clean and it was fine for us to stay overnight. It was very warm outside but the room had air conditioning so it wasn't uncomfortable. Our room had main bedroom, bathroom and a small kitchen with a cooker and two cups but no plates, cutlery etc! We didnt need this anyway so it wasn't a problem for us. There is free wifi at the location which requires a password from reception. The only disappointment was the distance to the trail of 100 giants. This is advertised on the website for the motel saying its near the southern gateway to the National Monument but in reality the actual trail itself is nearly a 3 hour drive away so we thought the website was a bit misleading. As we didn't know the area at all seeing the pictures and the trail advertised we thought it might be a short journey away and were very disappointed when we routed to the trail on our satnav. We probably would return here if we made the same journey from San Francisco to Vegas again and I understand from previous reviews they are revamping their rooms so next time it might not be so dated.

Room tip: Room 1 has the best view of the lake, although it is on the road but no many cars went past when we were there!
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The motel is old, but Bob and Lynnae Jamison are fixing it up room by room. The place is neat and clean inside and out. Our room had a comfortable queen bed, refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink, shower but no tub, and free Wi-Fi. Unlike many old motels, this room has plenty of tables and shelves to hold our stuff. Bob cheerfully told us about local dining and supplied an extra pillow on request. They do not serve breakfast, but did offer coffee and fresh-made muffins. The rate of $70 is $25 less than the economy chains in nearby Kernville and much more fun. We would stay there again and can recommend it to anyone looking for a good no-frills place. I hope this review will bring the Jamisons a few more customers. They have earned it. We enjoyed prime rib at the Sierra Vista restaurant.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JollyMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 May 2022
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews