We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay

Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Spectacular views and outdoor tables make this "Bistro on the Bay" a perfect spot to relax, enjoy a latte or organic coffee and hot breakfast.Breakfast is served all day. In addition to the indoor seating, there are 18 outdoor waterfront tables to enjoy watching the seals, otters, pelicans and other nature as well as watching the sailboats drift by. There is soothing live weekend entertainment in the morning and it gets a bit kicked up in the afternoon during happy hour and they have their own house wine among a great wine list. The scene is gorgeous and a glassed in area is provided to enjoy the outdoors when it is windy. Sunset is beautiful from this location while dinner is served. Fresh local seafood is the main dish along with pastas and fresh salads.
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice view but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had breakfast here while in Morro Bay. Enjoyed watching the sea otters swim but didn't find our breakfast to be exceptional. Nice friendly waitress though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveler49090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    114
    26
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were super-impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This review is a bit late, so some details are fuzzy now. =/ As I recall, though, we were looking for brunch when most places were past lunch service. Were it not for a TV spot on The Visitor's Channel in our place of lodging, we might not have found this place since it's tucked around the corner and in the back of a building on the Embarcadero. It's a great location, though - the views are *spectacular* - whether you choose a table inside or out.

We were so impressed with the food and service that we returned the next day. These folks pay attention to detail. We can recommend it highly and would return without hesitation. Note to owners: your cook/chef is a keeper. Don't let him/her get away!! =)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I've had only breakfast at this lovely little place. The food is fresh and exceptionally flavourful. Reading the negative reviews, it almost feels as if the other reviewers have written about a completely different restaurant. The servers I have had, have been lovely and accommodating; the food, delicious. It isn't inexpensive (like the specials board at Kitty's on Main) but it's a different experience right on the water with creative (delicious) takes on standard fare (the scrambles, CA Benedict). Nothing disappointing here.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EllieBellieBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ill be there again soon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

i was visiting Morro Bay for christmas break and i was meeting my friend there a little hard to find but i met up with her and right away we were greeted by a young waiter with a great smile on his face(very handsome) ;). he recommended we sat on the table with the best view. treated us very nicely. i had the bay view breakfast it was so phenomenal and my friend had the pastrami sandwich witch my friend said was the best she has ever had. it got pretty busy and this waiter still gave us the same service he's was running around trying to make sure everyone was fine very good service. I will be back for the food and some eye candy.... highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
psjayne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just Ask and You shall Receive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I decided to try this restaurant again, to give it another chance. I needed to have fast and good service and food prepared properly. The owner was there and I told her my needs and she met them. I ordered the fish tacos without toritillas, cheese on the side for my black beans, and the mango salsa on the side --- and I only had 30 minutes to spare. Knowing up front that it would take a good 10-12 minutes for prep, I began to watch the clock after I ordered. What I got was absolutely perfect and in the time frame promised. The fish, a very good portion, was cooked to perfection with garlic and spices - not dry at all. Everything was great...I would recommend it to others.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Blue Sky Bistro on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing