We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in Morro Bay”
Review of Hungry Fisherman

Hungry Fisherman
Ranked #35 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Morro Bay”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Hungry Fisherman is our favorite restaurant in Morro Bay. It has a comfortable atmosphere, with natural wood walls, lots of windows, nice booths and tables, and nautical decor including a mural of the Hungry Fisherman himself. Lots of locals come here, as well as visitors to town. For breakfast, the pancakes are amazing. For lunch or dinner I like to get the fish & chips with salad, and the clam chowder. The prices here are very reasonable, the portions large and filling, atmosphere enjoyable, food delicious, excellent service by friendly servers - what's not to love? Any time we visit this area, we always go out of our way to come to the Hungry Fisherman, and we've never been disappointed, whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    21
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
nr London England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Waitress was very friendly. Food good. Prices good.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pajaro2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“So many choices”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

From plain to fancy waffles, eggs anyway you can imagine and you can even order chicken tacos....and iced tea! Happy service and great refills. The Hungry Fisherman could be renamed the Happy Fisherman as there are a lot of satisfied local customers and the staff is a source of good humor and positive attitude. Family oriented. I can't wait to try the next order!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank giannaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles County
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, Hometown Service”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a family-oriented, hometown restaurant/coffee shop. It has a pleasant and comfortable decor. It is clean and airy. They are gracious and welcoming to their guests. Food is excellent and they can accommodate special dietary requests (and preferences). Food comes to the table fast and hot. Everyone here is so nice; customers are both the locals and tourists. The restaurant is just off of Main Street and not on the waterfront but it is always busy--that's a testament to the good food and friendly service. Breakfast is ideal and they have anything you could possibly want--including a heart-healthy alternative on their menus--although my nephews went for the pancakes slathered in syrup every time. We've gone for lunch and dinner too and been satisfied with our selections whether it be a simple sandwich, clam chowder, cobb salad, steak and potatoes, or fish and chips--you name it--they've got it--Mostly American style cuisine. My nephew asked for jalepenos on everything and they accommodated him. We've been more than happy every time. Can't say enough about it--

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Wonderful breakfast. Huge portions. Not fancy but good down home cooking.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WIUmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hungry Fisherman also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Hungry Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing