We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS, NO HOT WATER, HEADBOARDS FALLING OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BED BUGS, NO HOT WATER, HEADBOARDS FALLING OFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

We rented 4 rooms.....this is what happened.

When we complained to the front desk, he could not get a hold of the manager because he would not answer his phone. We were told the whole hotel was out of hot water and that it had been fixed. 2 hours later we STILL had no hot water. But that's not even the worst of it.......

Room 1: BED BUGS!!! Ewwwww!! Headboard fell off wall, water in sink would not shut off, lights in bathroom did not work.

Room 2: headboard fell off and ripped out of wall, stains and holes in sheets and blankets, beds uncomfortable, no cold water night one, next morning.....no hot water. Breakfast was aweful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babidre3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    47
    39
    18
    29
See reviews for
41
59
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

After having just returned home from an overnight stay in Morro Bay the experience is still fresh in my mind. I've just reread some of the other critiques and many of the comments are right on point. The surface and edges of the stairs are crumbllng concrete over the original wooden treads and wire mesh is exposed. I suppose the stairs have been damaged by luggage being dragged up and down but it baffles me why such a surface was selected and even more amazed that the stairs have not been repaired. It really contributes to the seediness of the property as well as exposing the management to possible injury claims.

The room we were originally assigned to was not good. It smelled bad, was dreary, and very noisy because of street traffic. Don't ask for a King on the upper floor. All the Kings are in one area of the motel. Two are on the second floor, both facing a heavy traffic intersection --- the rest on ground level around the corner. I generally shy away from ground floor rooms because of overhead noise coming from overhead. This turned out to be the case after moving to a ground floor room. The young lady at the desk was very accommodating when I complained about the shortcomings of our our original room and there was no problem with changing rooms. Actually, she was the only redeeming feature of the motel.

The room to which we were re-assigned on the ground level seemed to be OK. It was clean, everything in working condition, and quiet --- for a while. Apparently there was a family with a couple small children overhead. There were a few strange noises shortly after checking in, then later in the evening, and finally --- starting from the early waking hours (6 a.m.) continuous noise radiated through the ceiling. Footsteps, squeaking noises, a thump now and then... At first I thought the noises were caused by structural deficiencies (especially the squeaks) -- I'm now thinking they were the result of child-related equipment, toys, etc. We were happy that we were checking out.

On the nit-picking side: the rooms are sparsely outfitted. No kleenex, meager towels in the bathroom (small, thin, and scratchy): two washcloths, two hand towels and two very small bath towels. I realize that the motel is low priced but other low priced chains offer a few additional amenities. The breakfast is minimal. The breakfast room itself is part of the small reception area. I was hoping for a better cup of coffee than that provided in the room --- no luck.

If we ever have reason to stay over in Morro Bay again, it will be somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voyageuse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

All i can say about this motel is location is great. Other than that it's the pits. The room looks like it's from 1980. It was so depressing looking. The beds were hard as rocks, chairs stained, I didn't even want to use the cover on the bed. If your desperate and need a place to stay ok, other than that DO NOT stay here. They say continental breakfast included, that is a joke.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detroityeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

What a disapointment my spouse, kid and I hade when we arrived in the motel. We had reserved a room "special kids" about 2 months before, and the room we got was right beside the drink distributor and ice-machine. Thanks for the horrible night during which we were awakened every 30 minutes when ice was being made.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigcop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

After not honoring our reservation rate and charging us $50 dollars extra, we were given a room that was filthy. Stained sheets, dried blood spots on the walls and headboard, hair in the sink, a shower that would not get above luke warm, and no screens on the windows. The stairs were crumbling, with sharp metal exposed. I tried to switch hotels, but it was Friday and not possible, much to the amusement of the manager. We slept in out sleeping bags to avoid contact with the bed, none the less I awoke with itchy red bites on my right temple. I have traveled all over this country and have seen some pretty bad hotels, but I have never felt compelled to call the Health Department, which I did the next day. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank buckchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 km away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.4 km away
Fireside Inn
Fireside Inn
#23 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.3 km away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay

Property: Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Address: 1080 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2010 (Formerly Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,149 - ₹ 18,086
Hotel Class:2 star — Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morro Bay Sunset Travelodge Hotel Morro Bay
Travelodge Morro Bay
Travel Lodge Morro Bay
Morro Bay Travelodge
Morro Bay Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing