We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
251
204
81
32
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
204
81
32
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantsingle storywafflessan simeonthe breakfast areacentral coastfront officeview of the oceanceiling fanbed was comfortablemorro rockgreat place to staymain streetpethighwaymotelcayucos
Filter
Updating list...
491 - 496 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of a 4 day trip. We have stayed in Morro Bay many times, but this was a 1st stay at this location. I must note that is motel is NOT near the embarcadero, and is north of downtown. That being said, it's a nice location, and the beach is just west. Check-in went smoothly and the clerk was nice. Our room was small, but clean and it looked like it had been refurbished recently. The bathroom was an odd shape, with only a shower-no tub. And I saw some hairs that hadn't belonged to us-haha. That is a BIG pet-peeve of mine, so have to take some points off for that. Over all though, one of the best stays we have had in Morro Bay. Sorry to say, most others are run down and just plan ratty!!

Room Tip: The breakfast is nothing to speak of, but lots of morning places to eat in Morro Bay, and a supermarket near by.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were disappointed to see that our breakfast did not meet your expectations as we have recently added several new items. Thank you for pointing out the hairs left behind - we will definitely be holding training sessions with our housekeepers to ensure that they are properly cleaning the rooms. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Morro Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

we came through morro bay in April 2012 on a road trip with our kids (aged 10 and 12 at the time).
it was a bit chilly (we aren't really outdoorsy folk) so after walking around the beach for a bit we just wanted to chill out after driving all day. there didn't seem like there was too much to do in morro bay itself (other than going to ooh and aah at the "rock" for a while!)

The kids loved the pool!
we thought it would be too cold (the air temperature was!) but the pool was like a BATH!

the motel is really lovely - just what you see when you watch movies!
a lot of people had dogs - but you wouldn't know this as we didn't see one dog hair in our room, and no dog smell - they must do a really good job clearing up after them!
the rooms are very clean and look refurbished, and it was a bonus that the kids could pick a complimentary dvd to watch in the evening.
hotel easy driving distance from shops and the "rock"
if we ever come on a road trip to california again, i would love to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houndgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you come stay with us again to enjoy our pool and DVDs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We are never disappointed with this hotel and stay there about every three months. The staff are especially friendly. It is a short drive to a beach which is usually deserted--just across the HW101. We used to switch hotels every tine we visited Morro Bay but now stay at the El Rancho every time. We enjoy sitting outside and eating our breakfast by the pool. Especially good value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us when in Morro Bay. It is wonderful that you enjoy breakfast by the pool and the close beach access. Thank you for making us your go-to hotel in Morro Bay. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have stayed in this motel several times. Since our previous stay, the motel has had a facelift and is even nicer than before. It is especially dog friendly, with a welcome basket including a towel for wiping sandy paws and a sheet to cover the lovely, white duvet on the bed, so the dog is welcome on the bed and a list of dog friendly eating establishments. A special touch, especially appreciated by people traveling with their dog.
The carpet seemed new and the room was spotless. My husband was enthusiastic about the hot breakfast offered and that helped us get on the road faster.
Kudos to management and staff for creating an inviting, clean and secure environment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our recent changes. We are so happy that you enjoyed our pet amenities, new carpet, and deluxe continental breakfast with three hot items. We hope that you will stay with us again as we continue to upgrade our property any way we can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This was the last stay of a 10 day trip from Maine to California and was definitely a highlight. We have 2 beloved mini-schnauzers and were really bowled over by the personalization in the room for our pets. The accommodations were great, the staff exceedingly friendly and welcoming of pets first rate. Some simple regulations were nicely conveyed for the consideration of other guests who do not have pets or prefer to avoid pets altogether. I appreciated this a lot because I think it’s really important for pet lovers and non-pet lovers to be able to have a great stay at a motel. The location was great and we were able to do some hiking, check out a fantastic beach, the incredible Morro Rock and an excellent seafood restaurant right on the water – all within an overnight stay. I would not consider another place the next time we come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms in the central building have views of the Pacific.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinS672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at Best Western El Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us while in Morro Bay. We are very happy that you and your two mini-schnauzers enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your pets again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews