We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We came away saying how friendly the place felt. We came at Christmas time and it was quaintly decorated. While not in town, it is right along the highway which was welcomed, and it was easy to find. The room was not grand, but in line with the price and comfortable. Nicer TV than we have at home.

Atop a piece of furniture was a small dog bed and other dog supplies, it made us miss our cats who stayed home.

Should we visit Morro Bay again, we would plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for giving your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our Christmas decorations and the flat screen TV. We hope that you will stay with us again - and bring your cats with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    185
    71
    27
    30
See reviews for
164
244
32
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first night of a 4 day trip. We have stayed in Morro Bay many times, but this was a 1st stay at this location. I must note that is motel is NOT near the embarcadero, and is north of downtown. That being said, it's a nice location, and the beach is just west. Check-in went smoothly and the clerk was nice. Our room was small, but clean and it looked like it had been refurbished recently. The bathroom was an odd shape, with only a shower-no tub. And I saw some hairs that hadn't belonged to us-haha. That is a BIG pet-peeve of mine, so have to take some points off for that. Over all though, one of the best stays we have had in Morro Bay. Sorry to say, most others are run down and just plan ratty!!

Room Tip: The breakfast is nothing to speak of, but lots of morning places to eat in Morro Bay, and a supermar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadgirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were disappointed to see that our breakfast did not meet your expectations as we have recently added several new items. Thank you for pointing out the hairs left behind - we will definitely be holding training sessions with our housekeepers to ensure that they are properly cleaning the rooms. We hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in Morro Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

we came through morro bay in April 2012 on a road trip with our kids (aged 10 and 12 at the time).
it was a bit chilly (we aren't really outdoorsy folk) so after walking around the beach for a bit we just wanted to chill out after driving all day. there didn't seem like there was too much to do in morro bay itself (other than going to ooh and aah at the "rock" for a while!)

The kids loved the pool!
we thought it would be too cold (the air temperature was!) but the pool was like a BATH!

the motel is really lovely - just what you see when you watch movies!
a lot of people had dogs - but you wouldn't know this as we didn't see one dog hair in our room, and no dog smell - they must do a really good job clearing up after them!
the rooms are very clean and look refurbished, and it was a bonus that the kids could pick a complimentary dvd to watch in the evening.
hotel easy driving distance from shops and the "rock"
if we ever come on a road trip to california again, i would love to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houndgirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you come stay with us again to enjoy our pool and DVDs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We are never disappointed with this hotel and stay there about every three months. The staff are especially friendly. It is a short drive to a beach which is usually deserted--just across the HW101. We used to switch hotels every tine we visited Morro Bay but now stay at the El Rancho every time. We enjoy sitting outside and eating our breakfast by the pool. Especially good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoy staying with us when in Morro Bay. It is wonderful that you enjoy breakfast by the pool and the close beach access. Thank you for making us your go-to hotel in Morro Bay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have stayed in this motel several times. Since our previous stay, the motel has had a facelift and is even nicer than before. It is especially dog friendly, with a welcome basket including a towel for wiping sandy paws and a sheet to cover the lovely, white duvet on the bed, so the dog is welcome on the bed and a list of dog friendly eating establishments. A special touch, especially appreciated by people traveling with their dog.
The carpet seemed new and the room was spotless. My husband was enthusiastic about the hot breakfast offered and that helped us get on the road faster.
Kudos to management and staff for creating an inviting, clean and secure environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bw_elrancho, Manager at BEST WESTERN El Rancho, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed our recent changes. We are so happy that you enjoyed our pet amenities, new carpet, and deluxe continental breakfast with three hot items. We hope that you will stay with us again as we continue to upgrade our property any way we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
4.0 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.0 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.0 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN El Rancho? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Rancho

Property: BEST WESTERN El Rancho
Address: 2460 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1552
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,658 - ₹ 15,643
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN El Rancho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN El Rancho!Escape to this Morro Bay, California hotel offering comfortable and affordable accommodations near Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Beach and Cal Poly University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN El Rancho where guests will receive personalized customer service, quiet accommodations. Newly refurbished, this California Best Western hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around Morro Bay. Guests staying at this Morro Bay hotel will enjoy single story accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms featuring cable television, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board and free high-speed Internet access. Dining is made easy with the hotel's complimentary breakfast and a restaurant right across the parking lot as well as 2 patios for our guests' use. The outdoor heated swimming pool(SEASONAL) provides a great place for guests to unwind and refresh.enjoy the sunset view from our garden area. For added convenience, the BEST WESTERN El Rancho offers large vehicle parking.There is no better lodging choice than the BEST WESTERN El Rancho when visiting Morro Bay. Located midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, guests at the hotel will have convenient access to a variety of area attractions including views of the Pacific Ocean. Spend an afternoon touring nearby Hearst Castle or San Luis Obispo Mission, exploring Morro Bay Rock, biking or hiking through Morro Bay State Park or enjoying some beach fun at Atascadero State park. Cal Poly University and Cuesta College are both located close by making the BEST WESTERN El Rancho ideal lodging when touring the campus or visiting friends. The caring staff at the AAA-3 Diamond BEST WESTERN El Rancho is ready to ensure an enjoyable stay in Morro Bay, California. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Rancho Hotel Morro Bay
Best Western Morro Bay
Morro Bay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing