We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
139
157
46
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
157
46
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese roman spa small gym workout room spa pool continental breakfast sparkling apple cider no elevator each evening morro rock hot tub waffles ceiling fan stayed here for two nights second floor nice view room was large
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel! The location was great and within walking distance of Morro Rock and the shopping. Jacuzzi/spa was nice and big. Rooms were clean and in good condition. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

We are so pleased to know of your enjoyable stay with us. Our staff looks forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We stayed for two nights and appreciated a number of things about the motel:
- The price was reasonable. The rooms were $70/night cheaper than the Comfort Inn, which has adequate but very basic accommodations.
- Wine each evening is nice.
- The room was good-sized and includes a couch.
- There was no adjoining room on one side, and the bathroom was between the bed and the other room which reduced noise from that room.

However, there were a number of negatives:
- Beds were hard and uncomfortable; pillows were lumpy.
- My used washcloth was left in the tub, suggesting that housekeeping didn’t even look there, let alone clean it.
- The lobby and our room smelled very odd, as if sprayed with bad air freshener.
- The decor isn’t that important to me, but since the motel’s sign boasts that Every room is a work of art, it’s worth mentioning that the decor is tired and in need of updating.
- Cold air entered through an area of the window that should have been sealed.
- If the room above you is occupied, you will hear every step that people take.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelingpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We've been working on improving many aspects of the hotel and have noted the negatives you mentioned. Our hope is that you'll give us another try the next time you visit Morro Bay.
Regards,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

This was our first stop leaving LA and driving North toward San Francisco. I highly recommend it. Quiet little town, great hotel. Staff were very nice, rooms were clean and parking was easy. Only stayed one night, I would stay for two if we ever did this again. We used air miles for the stay here and it was a great value.

Room Tip: they serve a breakfast but go early as the small dining room fills up quickly.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit our beautiful area.
Regards,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a generous size, very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The free breakfast was great, so much to choose from. We would definitely stay here again, very affordable.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with other travelers. The staff is happy to know of your enjoyable time with us. We'll be here for you on your next visit to our beautiful area.
Regards,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

I would say Masterpiece Hotel is more like a motel, but they offer more than any other similar type of motels. They offer afternoon wine and cheese (not the best wine or cheese) daily from 5 for about an hour, coffee (regular or decaf) and hot water for tea at the lobby, and continental breakfast is way better than expected in terms of variety. They have a small gym and indoor jacuzzi. Very satisfied with a short stay. Convenient location within walking distance to sea.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us with other travelers. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Morro Bay.
Regards,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews