We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundown Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 141
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Serena Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)
US$ 250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
296
190
31
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
190
31
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagic fingerslarge closetcoffee makerwithin walking distancewalk in closetpride of ownershipfridge and microwavemain streetbed was comfortableclean roomstwo blockswi fiwould stay here againshops and restaurantsmorro rocknight's sleepvisit morro bay
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A nice little hotel near the seaside tourist strip of Morro Bay (but just far away enough to not be inconvenient) that was a convenient stop between LA and San Simeon.

Pleasant and friendly owner (Ms. Lin).

WiFi, cable TV and electric "Magic Fingers" bed massager!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Platterpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The owner really cares and it shows. The place is spotlessly clean and the rooms are decorated with homey touches. Simple and comfortable. A few blocks from the water and restaurants - everything is easily walkable.

Firm bed, in-room coffee and fridge, medium-sized TV. On A quiet street. My one caveat is that there isn't a hair dryer in the room.

We checked in late and felt kind of bad about it, because the nice woman who owns the place waited around a long time for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We opted to stay at the Sundown Inn for a one night stay as we passed through on a leisure trip to the San Francisco area. We found it on Trip Advisor and we decided to give it a shot. I can say that we were very satisfied with the accommodations and the price. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The location is within walking distance of the embarcadero and is close to restaurants. You will not find a better value.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you are traveling on a budget and want to stay on the Central Coast- this fits the bill quite nicely!
It is not located on the water but it is within walking distance of the Morro Bay waterfront with its restaurants,galleries,souvenir shops and the other direction a movie theater, antique and second shops,funky coffee shops and more!

The room had 2 double beds, very clean, refrigerator, microwave, real coffee cups not just styrofoam- coffee maker and clean compact bathroom-shower only- no tub.

Quiet the Friday and Saturday night we stayed there- lots of lighting in the room-flat screen tv and fairly comfortable beds.

If you want a clean, basic place to lay your head down and a hot shower without breaking your budget- stay here! Also LOVE that it is NO SMOKING and NO PETS

Room Tip: Ask for an end room if you want just one neighbor-
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We picked this motel because rarely have I seen so few 1-3 star reviews for anyplace on trip advisor. And if you read these, they have more to do with the writer's expectations than the hotel itself. If you want a spa, or breakfast, or free newspaper -- for heaven's sake, don't come here and expect them. If you want a motor inn the way they used to be - a clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay - this is as good as it gets. The place is so clean that, had it had a bathtub, I might actually have used it. The basics were provided and in good working order, the bed was comfortable and firm. Pillows a bit flat and hard for my taste, but I didn't bother asking for another. The owners were extremely friendly and accommodating, and would likely have provided another if they could. The reviews I've read here are pretty accurate. If this is what you want, you'll be delighted with it! (Oh, and the price, off-season at least, can't be beaten.)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmyvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews