We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Morro Bay”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Morro Bay”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I selected La Serena for a 2 night stay based on Trip Advisor reviews. My husband and I were not disappointed. Comfortable, clean and convenient location. We have been to Morro Bay before, so did not need a view of "The Rock". Our room was on the second floor and had a small balcony--great for having a glass of wine and enjoying the south facing view, which was okay, but nothing spectacular. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was standard, but view from the Garden room was great. All in all, a wonderful stay in Morro Bay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
The La Serena Inn thanks you for taking the time to post your review. We were so happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We will be here for you on your next trip through beautiful Morro Bay.

Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    129
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
82
141
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Loved it! Walked in without reservations after spending bad night in neighboring inn. Got a king fireplace suite for way less than other place for room 3x bigger with balcony & better view of rock & bay. Huge bathroom & had tempurpedic mattress! Also has DirecTv. Loved the amenities & very clean! Room faced street but didn't hear any noise; great wall insulation. Staff was soooo nice; even let us check out 3 different rooms so we could decide on which view..rock or south bay. Either is great! Evening reception refreshments and expanded continental breakfast with great view from eating area. Will definitely stay here again, as soon as we can get away again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimpleCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We here at the La Serena Inn were so happy to provide you with an awesome stay. We continually strive to make every guest's experience with us as pleasant as yours was. We are looking forward to providing you with another wonderful stay.

Best regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

La Serena is a three floor hotel. Not all floors afford a view. We chose a room on the 3rd floor with a perfect window facing the rock. This is a must have if you are going to Morro Bay. (Elevator, outside stairs and indoor stair available. Covered parking- have breakfast there- included; or walk two blocks to Carla's Cafe for great breakfast).
Room was large, very comfortable. One drawback, balcony not big enough or equipped with chairs. I think some 36 inch patio chairs would be a plus for the view rooms, but they would barely fit. Very clean- and enough space to move around if you just want to stay in the room for awhile and not feel cramped. I would go back to this hotel. Staff person seemed a little out of it, not super friendly, but didn't have to deal with her much. A caveat- memory foam beds. If you want to try one or have never slept in one, it IS different. 1st night wierd, by second night I wanted one at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the rock, spend the extra few dollars to enjoy the view or this become...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We were happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your input regarding the balconies and chairs. We are always on working improving the quality of our service. We hope to see you again.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

La Serena Inn was a great place to stay during the recent New Year's Eve weekend. Good restaurants within walking distance was a bonus.It was disappointing that I had requested a temper-pedic bed and was not given a room with that type of bed. The mattress that we did sleep on was old and mushy and the sheets were old.

Room Tip: The suite that my parents slept in had the temper-pedic mattress and a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
The La Serrena Inn was disapointed to read of your less than stellar stay with us. We are always working on ways to improve our service to our guests. Thank you for your input, we hope you will consider us once again for your lodging needs.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I just returned from a second three-night stay at La Serena. My stay there a year ago was such a success, that when I learned I'd be returning to the Morro Bay area I booked at La Serena without even considering other hotels there, and there are plenty to choose from. La Serena is small, with friendly staff, and large, comfortable rooms. I like having the micro fridge for extended stays and the wifi signal was strong. I also like the covered parking, although the weather is routinely pleasant. I have never encountered noise problems.

In last year's review I commented that there were no ironing boards in the rooms, which they have corrected. (I take no credit for this but applaud their thoughtfulness. It's the attention to guests' needs that distinguishes La Serena.) The staff is always helpful and responsive to questions.

I spend 20-30 nights in hotels a year, so I have a pretty good idea what distinguishes a place to sleep from a place where you want to stay. I can't think of anything I'd like to see improved and encourage visitors to the Morro Bay area to give La Serena a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for posting such a nice review. Thanks for noticing some of the changes we've made since your last visit. We look forward to being here for you on your next trip through.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
0.3 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.3 km away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
1.7 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,904 - ₹ 18,519
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing