We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

La Serena Inn was a great place to stay during the recent New Year's Eve weekend. Good restaurants within walking distance was a bonus.It was disappointing that I had requested a temper-pedic bed and was not given a room with that type of bed. The mattress that we did sleep on was old and mushy and the sheets were old.

Room Tip: The suite that my parents slept in had the temper-pedic mattress and a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
The La Serrena Inn was disapointed to read of your less than stellar stay with us. We are always working on ways to improve our service to our guests. Thank you for your input, we hope you will consider us once again for your lodging needs.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    122
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
131
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I just returned from a second three-night stay at La Serena. My stay there a year ago was such a success, that when I learned I'd be returning to the Morro Bay area I booked at La Serena without even considering other hotels there, and there are plenty to choose from. La Serena is small, with friendly staff, and large, comfortable rooms. I like having the micro fridge for extended stays and the wifi signal was strong. I also like the covered parking, although the weather is routinely pleasant. I have never encountered noise problems.

In last year's review I commented that there were no ironing boards in the rooms, which they have corrected. (I take no credit for this but applaud their thoughtfulness. It's the attention to guests' needs that distinguishes La Serena.) The staff is always helpful and responsive to questions.

I spend 20-30 nights in hotels a year, so I have a pretty good idea what distinguishes a place to sleep from a place where you want to stay. I can't think of anything I'd like to see improved and encourage visitors to the Morro Bay area to give La Serena a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Thank you for posting such a nice review. Thanks for noticing some of the changes we've made since your last visit. We look forward to being here for you on your next trip through.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had sleep problems because of a noisy refrigerator in the room (we unplugged it in the early hours!). There is also transferred noise from other rooms inside the hotel and outside from the alley/road behind the Hotel. Otherwise a fantastic location with easy parking close to the shops, restaurants and waterfront. We got very good front desk service and a good breakfast with views of Morro Rock. Management responded very promptly and courteously by email to the comments card we left at reception.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms backing onto the alley / road behind the Hotel and check out the level of noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G. M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the noise issues, we hope on your next visit to the Central Coast you will consider us once again for your lodging needs.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stopped here overnight during a trip down Hwy 1 and booked through Expedia on the day. We paid slightly more than the other chain motels but enjoyed staying somewhere more individual with a friendly feel. The young lady on the front desk was delightful and we shared a laugh as we checked in. She gave us advice about where to eat (a pizza place a short walk/drive away).

The room was spacious if a tad dated (I haven't seen cathode ray tube TVs for a while!) but was immaculately clean and the quirky pictures in the corridors and piped music added to the experience of being in a US motel for a pair of Brits! Breakfast was included and there was a waffle iron - we thoroughly enjoyed this! The views from the terrace where breakfast is available are lovely over the beach and the huge Morro Rock.

No complaints - great value for money and friendly to boot - thank you!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love_flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for the nice review of our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the U.S.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alta loma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

They have ocean views, great prices, spotless rooms!
my husband and I stayed for two nights, we didn't know what was available as far as restaurants in town, so I called down to the front desk and they made some recommendations and also supplied us with a binder containing the menus for most of the places in town.
I have stayed in 4 star hotels that did not offer the friendly service that we received at all times at the La Serena Inn, we will return for sure!

D.S.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abeeNormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
The La Serena Inn thanks you for your generous review. We pride ourselves on providing excellent accomodations and superior customer service, we are very happy to read that you received both. We look forward to being able to serve you again.

Happy travels,

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 km away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.4 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 km away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,032 - ₹ 15,491
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing